Escape System rules state: "If the Pilot would be vulnerable to Hacking or E/M Ammunition, he cannot be Hacked, or affected by E/M, while its Model is not on the game table." I have taken this to mean that ISO and IMM-B states caused by Hacking and EM are not applied to the Operator when the TAG is removed. But what about Stunned, IMM-A or ISO caused by Jammers? Do those states get passed onto the Operator or is the intent that no states applied to the TAG get transferred to the Operator?
@Mahtamori please add this question to the list, neither this thread nor the other approaches an answer. https://forum.corvusbelli.com/index.php?threads/39380/
Before I do that I have to ask what rule would cause states to pass over to the operator? Besides that the Escape System erroneously referring to Pilot; to me the Escape System rules doesn't seem to provide any system for the operator to inherit states, it seems like what it says is basically "doesn't matter what order you make rolls in, you're not applying the effects of that hacking program to the operator if the TAG goes *poof*"
Or in this example: An Anaconda makes an Intuitive Attack on what the Nomad player is sure is an Echo-Bravo. Unbeknowst to the Nomad player, the Pan-O player has a Crocman Hacker and a Hexa sniper in Hidden Deployment. Rolling a crit, the Hexa manages to cause two STR damage on the Anaconda and the Crocman applies an Oblivion attack that also pierces the BTS. Applying two points of damage to the Anaconda, the Nomad player puts the operator on the table and the Pan-O player wants to put the Isolated state on the heavy infantry operator, arguing it hasn't been applied to the trooper yet. Consulting the rules, the Nomad player says the operator is placed on the table at the end of the order and that the operator may not be hacked because at the time of applying Isolated state the operator isn't on the table.
The TAG and the Operator are the same Trooper. So it's less a case of finding a rule to make the states pass but rather finding a rule to PREVENT them passing. So, a Dogface which is in the Targetted and IMM-A states transmutes into a Dogwarrior. The Dogwarrior is still in the Targetted and IMM-A states. Is this also true for Iggy? So taking your interpretation. Iggy is hacked by Crocman on Order 1. Iggy enters the Order in ISO state. Iggy's player spends the TacAware order to Move Iggy back; a Crocman appears and Crits causing 2Ws. Is Iggy's Operator in the ISO state? Or, order 1 Iggy Moves into LOF off a Jaguar. The Jaguar Fires an ADHL hitting and IMM-A Iggy. Order 2, in desperation Iggy Dodges to try and get out of the IMM state. The Jag fires a Panzerfaust, hits and does 2 STR. Is Iggy's Operator in the IMM-A state? (Bonus, Iggy walks into LOF of 2 Jags. Is hit with both an ADHL and a Panzerfaust. ADHL causes IMM-A and the Panzerfaust does 2STR. Is Iggy's Operator IMM-A?)
I don't agree that they can be fully considered the same trooper for basically the same reasons that a Proxy can't. For other TAGs, the Pilot rule is necessary to have states carry over between the miniatures while transmutation and motorcycle units are switching between two profiles for the same trooper and therefore taking states with them between both profiles (yes, this could be expressed better). Yes, the rules are terribly inconsistent in how they describe any of this for multi-profile units and this is an area that could really be improved.
I agree with you. My opinion is that no states are inherited by operator from the TAG. But that's just mabo - there's no underlying rule that says that. Which is why I asked my question. For Proxy we have specific rules and rulings that tell us to treat them as different troopers for some purposes.