1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Odd Mine Question

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Reece, May 24, 2018.

  1. Reece

    Reece EI Aspect
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    347
    Two enemy camo markers, side by side. One is a mine, one is a trooper.

    I move a Preta in to the mine's area of effect with my first short skill. The mine reveals and detonates hitting my Preta. Now for the second skill, can I attack the now revealed mine with a Chain Rifle in order to hit the camo'd trooper next to it?

    I feel like it's a "No", but I'm unsure and I wasn't able to find anything in a search do to the plethora of "key words" for this particular interaction.
     
    #1 Reece, May 24, 2018
    Last edited: May 24, 2018
  2. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Mines are explicitly targettable once revealed. (You can Discover+Shoot from a distance to pop a mine without risking taking the template hit.)

    Camo is revealed retroactively for the entire order in which it is broken.

    The mine doesn't actually resolve exploding until the end of the order.

    I think this might actually work, if you're willing to sacrifice the unit that is triggering the mine, since you will then take a mine template to the face completely unopposed.

    Edit: See below, this does not work.
     
    #2 macfergusson, May 24, 2018
    Last edited: May 24, 2018
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,895
    Likes Received:
    8,546
    Triggering a mine isn't among the camouflage cancellation clauses for said mine...

    Also, the text is a bit blurry... it notes "Once triggered, it is removed from play", so draw your own conclusions.

    I'd say you can only shoot the mine by discovering it first, not by face-tanking it.
     
  4. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,374
    Likes Received:
    10,872
    Mines don't declare AROs, specifically for this reason, so they don't actually break Camouflaged state when they trigger.
     
    xagroth, Sorbus, colbrook and 2 others like this.
  5. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Good points.
     
  6. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    393
    Once triggered a mine isn't it immediately "killed" as it is removed from the table at the time of triggering?
     
  7. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    4,210
    Likes Received:
    4,936
    "Once a Mine triggers, it is removed from play."
    If it's not in play I hardly see how you could Target it with an attack.

    So there's basically multiple reasons the answer is 'No'.
     
    xagroth and Reece like this.