1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Objective room, combat jump, and ai beacons

Discussion in 'Rules' started by kinginyellow, Jun 9, 2019.

  1. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    376
    Yup, another ai beacon question. Here we go, :P

    These question are all about landing in an objective room.

    1) Can a normal combat jump trooper (like an akalis) disperse from outside the exclusion zone into the objective room, even if all the doors closed?

    2) Netrods are equipment and because of that are immune to exclusion zones (who explicitly state troopers). Does this mean you can intentionally drop a netrod in the room (if the circular template fits)

    Thanks guys
     
  2. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,700
    Likes Received:
    4,165
    1) No. It's an internal area, so you can't Ad into it. It's the same reason that you can't AD into a sealed room but rather land on the roof. You'd be placed in your Deployment Zone as per the rules of AD:4/5.

    2) No, as above, but it can disperse there. An AI Beacon is only destroyed when a Dispersion causes it to leave the game table. If the Dispersion causes the landing to be in [a location in can't deploy], the AI Beacon will deploy normally at the point established by that Dispersion.
     
    #2 inane.imp, Jun 9, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
    chromedog likes this.
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,015
    Likes Received:
    6,076
    For sake of curiosity.
    1) Not during season 10.
    I don't think we ever got an answer to the question whether you're allowed to Combat Jump into an enclosed structure for the general rules, and RAW doesn't actually indicate which elevation you're allowed to Combat Jump or Disperse to.

    Just one more reason why season 10's Combat Jump alteration should be made permanent :)
     
    Robock likes this.
  4. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    376
    Is it because we know the objective room is a sealed room that it must be "inside" that is the restricting element of combat jump? Because most if not all objective rooms have no roofs.
     
    Hecaton likes this.
  5. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,478
    Likes Received:
    6,022
    We know it is inside because it is an Objective Room.

    If it were outside then it would be an Objective Courtyard, or maybe an Objective Garden.
     
    Robock and ambisinister like this.
  6. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,504
    Likes Received:
    3,300
    So just speculation then.
     
  7. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,478
    Likes Received:
    6,022
    Only if you don't understand the meaning of the word "room".
     
    Zewrath likes this.
  8. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,504
    Likes Received:
    3,300
    Do you have a room with infinite height in your house? How the fuck does that work?
     
  9. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,478
    Likes Received:
    6,022
    A room by definition is inside, and enclosed, if it were not then it would cease to be a room, it would be a garden, or a balcony, or a courtyard, or maybe even a porch, but not a room.

    The infinite height is a game abstraction, but it remains a room, so it remains inside.
     
  10. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,504
    Likes Received:
    3,300
    So can you jump onto the roof?
     
  11. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,478
    Likes Received:
    6,022
    As long as you can physically place the model with it's base supported.
     
  12. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,504
    Likes Received:
    3,300
    Hmmm, looks like all the objective rooms I've seen at tournaments weren't modeled correctly since they didn't have a roof.
     
  13. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,478
    Likes Received:
    6,022
    Guess you can't AD on to the top of one then!
     
  14. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,504
    Likes Received:
    3,300
    Well then they're not rooms. A room needs a roof. You can't put a ceiling-less room on the table, say it's going to be played like it has a roof, then not allow fudging to place models on the roof.
     
  15. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    1,450
    My arms aren’t long enough... but, then again, no one’s are.
     
    ChoTimberwolf and colbrook like this.
  16. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    1,450
    The infinite height of the walls make a roof immaterial... you’d never have enough orders to climb down.
     
  17. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,478
    Likes Received:
    6,022
    My objective rooms have a domed roof at the top of their infinitely high walls so you couldn't place a model on them anyway.
     
  18. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    1,450
    Of polished marble, ¿no?
     
  19. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,478
    Likes Received:
    6,022
    I'm not sure, I can't quite make them out at this distance.
     
  20. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    1,450
    I think there’s just enough of a shine/glint for me to feel confident that they are.
     
    colbrook likes this.