1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiterrain and terrain types, deployment, asteroid blues.

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by Anonymous, Sep 18, 2019.

  1. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Ok, so couple of missions have special deployment options for troops with 0-G.

    What happens for troopers with multiterrain?
    1.They count as 0-G and can benefit from the special deployment options.
    2.They cannot as the effect only specifies you ignore movement penalties of said terrain type.
     
  2. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,086
    MULTITERRAIN AUTOMATIC SKILL
    Optional.
    REQUIREMENTS
    EFFECTS

    Due to the wording of the skill, you would choose "0-G" as the terrain type before deploying and reap the benefits of that decision all game.

    Think of the skill not so much as the trooper adapted to all terrain types, but that the troopers within that classification each have a single terrain specialization out of a variety of terrain specializations and you are simply choosing the one that best fits the terrain for the battle at hand.
     
    Daniel Darko and Willen like this.
  3. Xeurian

    Xeurian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    855
    Choosing a type of terrain to specialize in with Multiterrain most likely does not grant you the capital "T" Terrain rule associated to that type of terrain. I would lean towards #2.
     
    DukeofEarl and Hecaton like this.
  4. DukeofEarl

    DukeofEarl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Also worth noting that there are missions that specify that Multiterrain gets bonuses. Given that and the factors noted above you most certainly do not get the bonuses in this case.
     
    Daniel Darko and Xeurian like this.
  5. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,395
    Likes Received:
    4,105
    And going off the way it was treated in Wotan and Kurage, you *must* have the skill specified, and cannot replace it with Multiterrain.
     
  6. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    NO!

    The missions require you to have the Zero-G Terrain Special Skill. Multi-terrain just lets you choose which terrain type you can move through freely. It doesn’t grant the trooper the Zero-G Terrain Special Skill.
     
    Gero, Section9, Xeurian and 5 others like this.
  7. Mcgreag

    Mcgreag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    285
    As a followup on that do the bonus from Debris Area and Artificial Gravity Failure stack giving you +2 mov if you have MultitTerrain?
     
  8. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,086
    Yeah, I guess you're right. I read too much into the "choose which terrain type to specialize in" and thought it actually gave you a skill you didn't actually get.
     
    Xeurian and ijw like this.
  9. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    9,666
    Exactly!

    For example:
    Jurisdictional Command of Corregidor
    ──────────────────────────────────────────────────

    GROUP 1[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]10
    HELLCAT Spitfire / Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 28)
    HELLCAT Combi Rifle, Adhesive Launcher / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 23)
    HELLCAT Boarding Shotgun / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 21)
    HELLCAT Boarding Shotgun / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 21)
    INTRUDER Lieutenant Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower, Grenades / Pistol, CCW. (0 | 35)
    WILDCAT (Number 2) Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 20)
    WILDCAT Engineer Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 23)
    WILDCAT Hacker (Assault Hacking Device) Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 25)
    WILDCAT Spitfire / Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 24)
    WILDCAT Heavy Rocket Launcher / Assault Pistol, Knife. (2 | 20)

    GROUP 2[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]2
    CARLOTA KOWALSKY Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower, Adhesive Launcher, D-Charges + Moriarty / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 34)
    [​IMG] MORIARTY Electric Pulse. (4)
    TOMCAT Doctor (MediKit) Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower + 1 Zondcat / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 26)
    [​IMG] ZONDCAT Electric Pulse. (4)

    6 SWC | 300 Points

    Open in Infinity Army

    The Tomcats and Hellcats get the Zero-Gee bonus, but the Intruder and the Wildcats do not.
     
  10. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Thank you for the Clear Answer!
    I do not think so, because the +to mov value is applied for orders performed “from and within the zone”.

    So what this would mean, from how I am seeing it, is that having Multiterrain you have a +To mov value along the whole table or it only applies if you start in a certain Area and not when you cross to another one.
     
    wallabies likes this.
  11. DukeofEarl

    DukeofEarl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    The zones are the same area (Exclusion for both) so that reasoning doesn't fit. Same Bonuses do not stack though so that would limit you to +1
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation