@ijw @HellLois Would you please confirm or deny whether the image used to show the Trigger Area of the mine on p. 76 is a tiny bit too simplified? It seems to assume that we place the Template diagonally, in-line with the center of the mine's base. The mine rules only say that the Template needs to touch the side of the base with the Focus. Nothing about direction. This plays into some minor tricks that can be pulled with the mines. However the core of my question is - is it correct that the Trigger Area is not marked completely correctly on this diagram and the white areas under the blue templates below (as well as other similar placements of other templates, at different angles) should also be considered Trigger Area and therefore represented in orange as well? I assume the image was slightly simplified for the ease of interpretation. Apologies for my Paint skills ;)
Secondly, since I believe the above image is an incomplete depiction of the mine's Trigger Area, the following seems possible. The mine is triggered by a Model / Marker declaring or executing a Skill or ARO inside that Trigger Area. The mine is not a Trooper firing a DTW, therefore the mine does not need a Mine-to-Trooper LoF. The Trigger Area can be used like this, "around a corner", without exposing the mine to the affected Trooper. Please consider the cardboard a building. The Trooper is not in Total Cover from the Small Teardrop Template's Blast Focus (the black dot on the Template), therefore it is affected by the detonation. I'm not going to go into whether it's a good or practical tactic. I just wish to know whether this is an intended / unintended but existing possibility in the ruleset. The rules seem to permit and the example from the post above seems very limited in the Template placements it takes into account to show the orange Trigger Area. The Trigger Area of places potentially under a Template and not in Total Cover from the Focus is much greater than shown above.
Template ttack section of the rules have the following line: "The main target of the Template weapon or equipment is a game element that can be designated as a valid target for the BS Attack". One of the requirements to be a valid target for a BS Attack is LoS. So your example would not be valid as you don't have LoS. BUT if there was another target that you have LoS to that would also be hit then placing it like that to also hit a secondary target should be possible.
A mine is not a trooper making an attack with a DTW. A mine does not require a LoS from base / silhouette. Please re-read the rules, this has changed from N3. Only requirement is for the target to activate in ZOC and under Trigger Area. The Trigger Area is marked with the Template, with the Focus touching the side of the base. The size of the area is the reason for Post #1. Once the mine explodes, all targets under the Template and not in Total Cover from the Focus of the Template are affected. That's the reason for Post #2, you can use this to "fire a mine around a corner" in some edge cases. There is no LoS requirement at all with mines.
It specifically states it's a Direct Template Weapon and there is nothing that says it can ignore LoS. While you could make the argument that it triggers you still can't make a valid attack. Being a trooper or not it's irrelevant, the template attack rules do not specify trooper.
The mine is not a Trooper. The mine does not make a BS Attack. It's therefore not bound by the requirements of how a BS Attack with a DTW is made. The mine has a Trigger Area and a Template that affects everything under it that is not in Total Cover from the Focus. Please read the rules fully, mate. You are wrong. Also, DTW rules on p. 49 do not mention Line of Fire anyway, so the mere fact that a mine is a DTW is meaningless for LoF requirements. A Trooper is required to have LoF from his Silhouette to the target to BS Attack with a DTW. A mine knows no such limits ;)
Well that turns out to be quite the rabbit hole. Mine trigger Area: ◼ The Trigger Area of a Mine (whether it is a Camouflage Marker or a Mine Token) is the area within the radius of the Small Teardrop Template, extended out from the edge of the base of the Mine. The orange area is blocked by Total Cover in the example. Since examples are straight up to be considered as rules, radius means a straight orthogonal line drawn from the center with the length of the small Impact Template here, because that's what the picture displays. That makes it impossible for Mines to blow up around Corners as in @Nuada Airgetlam 's picture. Funny enough that makes the opposite possible. Troopers have the opportunity to draw LOF to a Mine (blue Line) before they are in the Mine's Trigger Area (orange Line). ◼ The target must be totally or partially within the Trooper’s front 180º arc, unless some Special Skill or piece of Equipment ignores this restriction. ◼ The Trooper must be able to see part of the volume of its target, with a minimum size of 3x3mm. ◼ LoF can be drawn from any point of the Trooper’s Silhouette to any point of the target’s Silhouette without being obstructed by any pieces of scenery or Models (friendly or enemy). Mines don't have a front arc, aren't troopers and with being able to see up to half the Mine's Base from above the 3x3mm rule should be satisfied. ◼ As long as any Trooper can draw LoF to its target, the target can draw LoF to its attacker as well, as long as the attacker is within the target’s front 180º arc Again Mine's aren't troopers don't have front arc and don't require LOF to trigger so this would give them LOF but that doesn't affect a Mine, since it triggers from something being inside their Trigger Area not LOF. Here's the N3 Trigger Area for comparison. Orange is radius. Blue is Trigger Area borders (not clean either, likely trying to compensate for a blast focus in it's front arc towards the borders of Total Cover) This is very noticeably different from thje N4 example, but still can't shoot around corners. The Trigger Area of a Mine (whether it is a Camouflage or a Mine Marker) is the area within the radius of the Small Teardrop Template extended out from the edge of the base of the Mine. The Trigger Area excludes any areas in Total Cover from the Blast Focus of the Small Teardrop Template. N3 allowed "more freedom" but didn't allow Trigger Area "without LOF" either. ► The Trigger Area of a Mine (whether it is a Camouflage Marker or a Mine Token) is the area within the radius of the Small Teardrop Template, extended out from the edge of the base of the Mine. ► The Trigger Area excludes any areas in Total Cover from the Blast Focus of the Small Teardrop Template (see graphic). The language hasn't changed in N4, so I'd assume they are intended to work the same as in N3 and how everyone I know will continue playing it until a FAQ addresses this. In the meantime you technically need to be able to see the center of the Mine's base before a Mine blows up on you. All thanks to that unfortunate N4 picture showing the rule in action that way.
My opinion is that drawing the exact orange Trigger area with all the permutations of swinging Templates would be very hard so they were forced to simplify the example, but that example does not constitute a more strict limitation than what rules indicate. It's the radius of the Template not the base of the mine that is mentioned in the rules, so the line is drawn along the axis of the Template, but the Template may "swing" from the edge of the base, by the "axle" of the Focus as you see fit. That covers a lot more than indicated in the example.
Graph in the rules beats your interpretation mate. I don't think it should work as in the picture and I won't play it that way either. That doesn't change the *RAW picture*, for now it does work like that thing says.
The problem is that the rules say different than what's shown in the image. The idea that the way an illustration (case interpretation) of rules was executed limits the rules themselves is pretty peculiar and I think Infinity is the only ruleset ever I've seen it in. And it's also only a convention on the Forums here, because I don't I've seen it in the rulebook. The literal Rules As Written say one broader thing and the example image limits that to a much more narrow interpretation, then the example is assumed to be equally RAW as well. Very peculiar to say the least. Not to mention it means that participation in the Forum is mandatory to play the game, because otherwise you'd treat the examples as subservient to the actual RAW, like in every single other ruleset in the world and never realize the team wants examples to be rules. Also, I've seen that claimed for text rule examples, but it's the first time I see that claimed for images as well.
Or, when they remade the old figure to be up to the visual standard of the new book, someone missed the details on the angles.
My point exactly. To take the illustration as gospel and actually make it override what the rule text explicitly states is simply mind blowing to me.