1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Merc Questions

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Arkangel, Feb 28, 2019.

  1. Arkangel

    Arkangel Bringer of Justice, Avatar of Retribution

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    I know that on many of the Sectoral Army lists, CBLs, and with the NA2, some mercs are mentioned. However, there's nothing I can find in the rules for how mercs are added to your army list.

    For example, can I add in any mercs to my generic Ariadna army?

    How much of my army can consist of mercs?

    In the Army Builder program, if I click on the "Merc" button, it adds in a slew of mercenaries.

    Can I make an all-Mercenary army?

    Any help is, as always, much appreciated.

    - Arkangel
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,196
    Likes Received:
    9,494
    ITS events currently have an option called "Soldiers of Fortune", this allows players to recruit up to 75 points of mercs at a one time cost of 1 SWC. This is what the mercs/NA2 button does but is only allowed if the TO decides to run a SoF event.

    Otherwise you are restricted to the mercs that show up naturally in the various Army lists (Krakots and Le Muet in Vanilla, Mr. Deadpool in Corregidor, Druze in various and many places, etc etc)
     
    Arkangel and FatherKnowsBest like this.
  3. Arkangel

    Arkangel Bringer of Justice, Avatar of Retribution

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Am I correct in assuming that the 75 points worth of mercenaries comes from a player's 300 (or whatever number is agreed on) points they use to build their armies with? I'm sure it sounds idiotic to ask, but I just want to be thorough.

    That's a very cool rule. Thanks for clarifying what the "Mercs/NA2" button does.

    - Arkangel
     
  4. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,196
    Likes Received:
    9,494
    Yes, the mercs still count towards the normal points limit for the game.
     
  5. Arkangel

    Arkangel Bringer of Justice, Avatar of Retribution

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Excellent. What an awesome rule. I'm trying to get a league going here in Colorado but even with friends that's a cool rule to have.

    One last question: are there restrictions to what mercs a faction would use? I can't really see PanOceania using Deadpool or ALEPH using Krakots. But then again I guess that's what the army lists are for.
     
  6. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    1,710
    I think the idea is that mercs that would go with an army thematically are already there. This extra rule allows the use of mercs that would otherwise be unavailable (albeit at an SWC cost on top of their normal point/SWC costs).