1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Looting D-Charges to Sabotage.

Discussion in 'ITS' started by Mahtamori, May 27, 2019.

  1. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,836
    Likes Received:
    7,254
    The wording for how to loot D-charges is a bit odd. Do you:
    a) Announce you want D-charges before rolling on Booty
    b) Announce you want D-charges after you have seen your Booty result
    c) Announce you want D-Charges after you have seen your Booty result and then roll WIP again to see if you get D-Charges

    C seems to be what the rules literally say, but B is more likely what they mean, on the other hand I find A to be the most straight forward.
     
  2. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    769
    Don't you have to see what you have rolled to be able to replace it?

    Also - the last sentence of the second bullet point suggests that either a) or b) is correct:
    ..., because the WIP roll is what is 'using the logistics trait'.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,836
    Likes Received:
    7,254
    No, no, I'm not talking about rolling for the Logistics Trait twice, I'm talking about rolling twice because of the same effect.

    EFFECTS
      • Allows the trooper to use the Logistics Trait of a Panoply:
      • By succeeding at a WIP Roll, a trooper can make a Roll on any of the Booty Charts to obtain one weapon or piece of equipment. Once a success has been rolled, that trooper cannot use the Logistics Trait of this piece of scenery again.
      • Troopers possessing the Booty or the Scavenger Special Skill, or any other Skill which specifies so, don’t need to make the WIP Roll and may automatically make a Roll on any of the Booty Charts.
      • A trooper in base contact with this piece of scenery may spend one Short Skill of an Order to cancel his Unloaded state.
      • In the case of obtaining the result of a Motorcycle on the Booty Table, troopers with S1, S2, S3 and S5 will have S4 while Mounted. Troopers with S6, S7 and S8 will only modify their MOV Attribute.
    • By succeeding at a WIP Roll, the Specialist Troops can replace the result of the Booty Chart roll with D-Charges
    It's the last (weirdly not quite as far indented) bullet point I'm talking about. Basically, since you don't have a result before you rolled, that last sentence implies that you first have to roll for the Logistics trait as normal, and then after having obtained a result you may attempt to replace the result with D-Charges by succeeding a WIP roll. That roll isn't using the Logistics trait at all
     
    ChoTimberwolf likes this.
  4. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    769
    Yeah, the indents are rather confusing than helpful.

    But to me the last point refers to the same WIP roll as the first one mentioned,
    the one that you are not allowed to do again (after a success)...

    If this is the right interpretation,
    then the last sentence should rather be something like
    "By succeeding at this WIP roll ..."
     
  5. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,393
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    It's written poorly, but what it's supposed to be according to HellLois is that when you pass your WIP roll, you can choose to either roll on the table or choose D-charges (if you are a specialist).
     
    Mahtamori and Ayadan like this.
  6. Ayadan

    Ayadan Knight of the TAG Order

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    945
    That's how I always understood it.
     
    inane.imp and chromedog like this.
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,836
    Likes Received:
    7,254
    Makes a lot of sense. I'd love to see the tiny word "instead" after D-Charges in the next season's document :)
     
    Hecaton likes this.