Something I have recently been exposed to these last few casual games. I have played against Combined Army a few times and I have noticed they have a Lt in HD. During the game, they play as a normal list. But reading through the rules again, I am sure a player cannot have a lieutenant in hidden deployment. If they do, then technically, they should start in Loss of Lieutenant from Turn 1 in their Active turn. Page 18 about Loss of Lieutenant states: [Activation box] If, during the Tactical Phase of the Active Turn, the Active Player lacks a Lieutenant because they did not deploy it on the game table (as a Model or as a Marker)... ...then a Loss of Lieutenant situation is automatically declared. Page 158 about Hidden Deployment state explains: [Effects box] > The Hidden Deployment State is a special form of deployment that allows the user to deploy during the Deployment Phase without placing a Model or Marker on the battlefield. > Until a Trooper’s Hidden Deployment State is canceled, that Trooper is considered not to be on the game table at all... > While in Hidden Deployment State, the Trooper will not add their Order to the Order Pool during the Tactical Phase. They can only use this Order themselves, when placing the Trooper on the gaming table during the Active Turn. Re-reading these bullet points again, to me, I think that having a Lieutenant in Hidden Deployment would count as not having a Lieutenant on the table. Thereby placing my opponent in Loss of Lieutenant for his First turn. The exception is if he revealed the lieutenant during my Active turn 1. But this did not happen. The Lieutenant was revealed in my Active turn 3. By not being on the table, the Lieutenant Order should not be generated and used on troopers with NCO skill either (looking at you Nourkias). This is how I read and understand the rules. I know Infinity has many rules and it is hard to know them all, but I think the CA players in my area are not aware of this fact. Am I correct with my understanding, that HD Lt.'s should place my opponent in LoL in their first active turn? Or am I wrong?
Addendum: The contradiction I noticed is, troopers in HD are considered on the table, just not represented by a model or marker. Yet the LoL rule mentions that a Lt must be either a model or a marker.
Your interpretation is correct: an HD Lieutenant needs to reveal itself before the player's Tactical Phase of their very first turn or suffer LoL. The lieutenant needs to be on the table as a model or marker, and they are neither when deployed in HD.
That is what I understood. Thanks for your replies @Iskandar and @QuantronicWombat. Next time I will know better and politely inform my opponent. One issues with this is, my opponent who plays CA should know this. I understand Infinity is a hard game to remember ALL the rules, but a player, at least, should know the rules used in his army. Just one more thing I need to remember.