1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Kozmo's Supernova - Switch

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Croepoek, Aug 2, 2019.

  1. Croepoek

    Croepoek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    187
    Hi fellow Aristeia fans!

    Quick question, because I had different opinions with my opponents. If the target is 2 Hexes away, who can you set on fire with your :3:?

    • A) You can set enemy Aristos adjacent to Kozmo on fire or is it
    • B) you can set enemy Aristos next to the target on fire?
    Basically: What does the "adjacent to" refer to?

    [​IMG]

    Thanks for the help!
     
    #1 Croepoek, Aug 2, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019
  2. Ghost_from_warp

    Ghost_from_warp Classified
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    525
    adjacent to user if not state otherwise like in
    upload_2019-8-2_14-45-11.png
     
    Croepoek and krotos like this.
  3. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,239
    Likes Received:
    10,636
    A, as far as I'm aware. Without a mention of a Target, adjacent has to be relative to the user of the Switch.

    EDIT - compare it to Koorie Queen's Boomerang:

    [​IMG]
     
    Croepoek likes this.
  4. Croepoek

    Croepoek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    187
    I see your points but this is still not making it really clear. Those are compelling but not 100% convincing examples as in general some wordings are not super stringent/clear.
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,239
    Likes Received:
    10,636
    I'd love to see any example that is adjacent to the target without it specifically saying so.
     
    Croepoek likes this.
  6. Croepoek

    Croepoek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    187
    But that is not the point. The point is that it is not 100% clear what/who Kozmo burns. Targets adjacent to him or to the target of his attack. The examples shown give a strong indication, bit no clear ruling. I still firmly believe that it could be read both ways and therefore would just like to have a clear ruling. Maybe @-V- can clarify it?
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,239
    Likes Received:
    10,636
    Kosmo is imposing the Burning state to all Adjacent Enemies. In English, that means adjacent to Kozmo.

    For it to mean adjacent to anything else, it would have to be specified.
     
    AdmiralJCJF and Croepoek like this.
  8. Croepoek

    Croepoek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    187
    So if you say 99,9% of native speakers will read and play it this way it is clear. But if there would be doubt for more % it is not clearly written.

    Anyway I will continue to play it like everyone else :hugging_face:
     
  9. Damiel

    Damiel Domaru sexytorizado :3
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    224
    From the Reference Guide:

    So, if it's not otherwise stated, the 2nd person means the character doing whatever. In this case, Kozmo is Burning through Switches, so all adjacent to Kozmo. 100% clear.

    :3
     
  10. Croepoek

    Croepoek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    187
    Nice thanks. This is crystal clear :)
     
    AdmiralJCJF likes this.
  11. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    2,015
    By default, that use of 'Adjacent' is always relative to the user of the Switch. So Kozmo may impose the Burning State to all Enemies Adjacent to him.