1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Isolated TAG

Discussion in 'Rules' started by tox, Oct 21, 2019.

  1. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    A pilot dismount and go on his own.
    The TAG is still a valid target and is hit by a vicious Jammer, putting it in the Isolated state.

    What happens to the Pilot?

    I suppose that, being the TAG the "order generating" element, it should be treated as Isolated too, but there is no way to resolve it at the moment.
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,255
    Likes Received:
    7,815
    The pilot is the one receiving the orders, not the TAG. And we know from Manned that states can not possibly be shared between Pilot and TAG (otherwise you wouldn't be able to dismount the pilot from a wreck as the pilot would also have the Unconscious state)

    What's left to figure out is whether they generate any orders, but as far as I can tell the exceptions in Pilot skill indicates that the Pilot is the one generating orders when dismounted meaning that if all you do is ISO the TAG, considering there is no exception hhandling for the Isolated state that I can find, you won't stop order generation if the Pilot is out and about.
     
  3. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1,494
    I'm not sure this is the correct conclusion to draw, since "manned" explicitly gives you permission (not the Pilot or Remote Pilot skills)... implying that they normally would.
     
  4. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,255
    Likes Received:
    7,815
    Manned gives you permission to spend orders on the Unconscious TAG to dismount the Pilot, but it does not say much more about the Pilot nor does the Pilot skill. Both just assumes normal order expenditure and since when the Pilot is separated from the TAG you can no longer spend orders on the TAG to move the Pilot about... well...

    Now, if there's something else you mean to imply here, I'm afraid you're going to have to more directly state your own interpretation because I can't really tell what you're trying to say beyond hinting something about order expenditure (which isn't really part of my interpretation)
     
  5. Ayaxs

    Ayaxs Crane agent, Yuandun division.
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    192
  6. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1,494
    Nothing other than what I said, but you are right. I misconstrued the order expenditure with the state not applying.
     
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,255
    Likes Received:
    7,815
    Here's a tricky question for you: what prevents the pilot of a non-Null TAG from generating an order as well? (It's tricky because I think the answer is "common sense" because I don't think the rules or FAQ currently handles this, which I find to be more of a proof of how poorly the Pilot rules are thought out to be than actually interesting question to answer for gameplay - they managed to write user-oriented order generation for Proxies, but not for TAGs)

    That said I'm not sure this FAQ can be applied to the specific case of a TAG being non-Null and unable to generate orders. I'm sure you have it right for how it's meant to be, but at the same time the Pilot should be able to receive orders. The question is whether the Pilot can use the Isolated TAG's Irregular Order or whether that's limited to dismounting only.
     
  8. Ayaxs

    Ayaxs Crane agent, Yuandun division.
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    192
    I think the part that says alternate Troop Profile implies that's still the same trooper, also they share other game states.
     
  9. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,255
    Likes Received:
    7,815
    So... you're saying that if the TAG gets ISO, so does the Pilot. And if the TAG is Unconscious, then so is the Pilot? Glue the TAG while Pilot is out and Pilot gets stuck?
     
  10. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5,919
    Likes Received:
    9,321
  11. Armihaul

    Armihaul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    448
    I think the solution is:

    The pilot, once dismounted, can receive orders from the pool, because he is not isolated. The pilot doesn't generate his own order, it is the TAG, so if the TAG is isolated, there is one less order avaiable for the pilot to spend on. When the pilot mounts again in the isolated TAG, he will not be able to use more orders from the pool (actually, the order to mount could be the TAG's irregular one, so no more orders that turn)
     
    #11 Armihaul, Oct 22, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2019
    colbrook and Mahtamori like this.