I know that some Aros can turn out invalid and you perform Idle instead, but I dont know exacly what happens if you actually didnt have the right to declare Aro in the first place. For example someone is moving outside my LoF and Im not sure if its inside my ZoC or not. I then declate dodge and after second short skill and measuring it turns out enemy model was outside my ZoC. Is this invalid Aro that end with Idle? And what happens if enemy model provokes actual Aro with second short skill? For example moving inside my ZoC. Does my dodge end up valid, or is it still an Idle? And what happens with similar situation but my unit is a hacker and I declare Spotlight? Is it Idle or do I hack if he actually moves into my ZoC? Edit: Another similar situation, my enemy moved behind my back, at the edge of my ZoC, I declare dodge, he shoots me with plsma rifle in template mode. Turns out he was outside of my ZoC so dodge declaration against first short skill wasnt allowed but getting hit by template from outside my LoF grants me dodge anyways. What happens now?
The current rule is: if you declare a ZoC ARO when the active trooper is not in your ZoC, then: 1) if the trooper moves into your ZoC for its second short skill, you perform your ARO. 2) if the trooper remains outside your ZoC, you perform an idle. ijw answer this thoroughly at the start of N4. However, he's also said that any further answers on this issue will require clarification from CB. So we can expect that this will be either clarified, or changed, in a future FAQ. Note that it doesn't apply to AROs which require LoF. Those have to have LoF at the time they're declared: https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threa...-are-line-of-fire-requirements-checked.38309/
I wanted to ask if Hacking area Aro is also considered as ZoC Aro for this purpose but this quote from provided link suggest that it also works. And what happens with plasma rifle example? Conditions to declare Dodge are met but from completely different reason so does it still count?
https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/provisional-rules-answer-how-do-hacking-area-aros-work.38312/ is what we have. Presumably it works the same as ZoC AROs in that, if you declare the hack ARO and then the active trooper moves into your hacking area, the ARO becomes valid. So, my opponent activates and Moves. I declare Dodge even though I have no LoF or ZoC. Opponent's second short skill is a BS attack with a template that catches my trooper. I think that yes, the Dodge becomes valid. If I recall, the logic comes from step 5 of the Order Expenditure Sequence, which says "Check that each Trooper that declared an ARO has been in one of the situations that makes their ARO declaration valid. If they have not, they are considered to have declared an Idle." So the trooper doesn't need to have had a valid ARO at the moment they declared it; they only need to have been in a valid ARO situation at some point during the order.
Dodge is dodge; in N4, the game no longer differentiates between a ZoC dodge (formerly Change Facing) LoF, or a template.