1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How many holoechoes?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Foxbringer, Mar 5, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Foxbringer

    Foxbringer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    119
    In holoecho activation there is line about deployment:
    "Automatic when deployed, placing up to three Holoechoes on the game table, within Coherency of at least one of the other Holoechoes, respecting the general conditions of the Deployment rules."

    During the game we obviously always have 3 echoes and only in this case it is allowed to place UP to 3 holoechoes.
    But effects refer to exactly 3, especially in the first line:

    "While in Holoecho State, the Trooper is represented by three Holoechoes: the Holoecho 1 Marker, the Holoecho 2 Marker and the actual Model."

    So is it allowed to place 2 holoechoes representing 2 Yaopu Panggulings instead of 1 LuDuan during deployment or it is a typo?
     
    y-jingos and Amusedbymuse like this.
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    11,028
    Likes Received:
    13,772
    I believe that this is an intentional change to how the rule was written in N3, and the same language is in evidence in the Spanish rules as well, which I think also didn't allow for less than 3 during N3.
     
    Foxbringer likes this.
  3. Foxbringer

    Foxbringer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    119
    So you think, in N4 we can use only 2 echoes during deployment?
     
  4. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    11,028
    Likes Received:
    13,772
    Yes.
     
    inane.imp and Foxbringer like this.
  5. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    5,139
    Probably want to check what the courtesy lists print in terms of holo echo numbers. It might immediately give away your plans to trick your opponent anyway.
     
  6. Cannon Fodder

    Cannon Fodder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    600
    I didn't realize you can't make bluffed courtesy lists in N4. In N3 I loved having 3 fake profiles on my lists for 1 model. Yasbirs faking as 3 Halqas were a staple of my vanilla lists.

     
  7. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit SecUnit

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    2,357
    You're definitely allowed to do it, so it should be reported as an Army bug if it hasn't been already.

    (Although in N4 it's near impossible to make a list that can actually pull off a convincing fake, so it's probably not a high priority bug.)
     
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    11,028
    Likes Received:
    13,772
    In N3 they had a very long running issue with Army where it would fail to hide orders for Holoechoes, but hide them for Combat Jump and Hidden Deployment, meaning it was pretty difficult to hide them.

    Right now you got another issue; it'll only hide Holomask, not Echo, and it will still print the hidden unit's weapon info on the list's weapon chart, making it harder to hide. E.g. make a list where your Lu Duan pretends to be a Rui Shi and your list will still have a suspicious MK12 and an absence of Spitfires...

    So basically, you had to make fake lists before and you have to make fake lists now by making a new list and printing from that, same procedure but slightly different reasons.
     
  9. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    7,534
    Courtesy lists have a weapons chart?
     
  10. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    5,139
    The app prints one for courtesy lists now. Normally I don't print it to save on paper and ink.
     
  11. Lawson

    Lawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2020
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    744
    The N4 rules (p.122) say that you can enter Holoecho state during the states phase if they are outside enemy LoF. When this happens, does the 'real' figure need to land in the same exact physical position on the game board as they were when they went into Holoecho state (your opponent would obviously be able to make note of this and wouldn't be fooled by your decoys) or are you essentially allowed to secretly "do-si-do" with one of the holoechos that you are in contact with when you enter the state (essentially a free potential 1" move) to keep it a mystery.
     
  12. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8,157
    Likes Received:
    14,817
    After entering the state and placing the two Holoecho markers you secretly note down which is the real trooper, this means you effectively get a free base width of movement.
     
    toadchild and Lawson like this.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation