1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ya podéis usar los foros de la campaña Kurage Crisis. Está en Infinity>Juego>Eventos Online>Kurage Crisis --------------------- Kurage Crisis forums now live. Find them at Infinity>Game>Online Events>Kurage Crisis
    Dismiss Notice

Getting rid of symbiont armour

Discussion in 'Rules' started by konuhageruke, Aug 8, 2018.

  1. konuhageruke

    konuhageruke Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    73
    AVE

    • Spending one Short Skill of the Order, the bearer can cancel voluntarily the Active Symbiont Armor state to also cancel the Immobilized (IMM-1 or IMM-2), Isolated, or Targeted states.

    What kind of short skill is this? Short movement skill? Can I get rid of Symbiont Armor and Move as second short skill? Can I get rid of it and BS attack?
     
  2. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    1,390
    It's a short skill. That's an actual specific game term; it's the same category that things like BS Attack, Dodge, etc. fall into. So you cannot ditch your armor and shoot in the same order.
     
  3. WiT?

    WiT? Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    44
    Out of interest, does anything prevent a player who hacks a Gorgos from stepping out of symbiont armour to effectively kill it (ie turn it into a 90 point spitfire fusilier)
     
  4. konuhageruke

    konuhageruke Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    73
    Nothing prevents that... That is why almost no one plays him :)
    Btw thanks. So getting rid of armor + move is legal- that what I wanted to know.
    As I understand getting rid of the armor has its effects immediately, so if anyone shoots at my unit then he makes ARM rolls on inactive profile, right?
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    • Spending one Short Skill of the Order, the bearer can cancel voluntarily the Active Symbiont Armor state to also cancel the Immobilized (IMM-1 or IMM-2), Isolated, or Targeted states.
    Not without being IMM, Isolated or Targeted.
     
    inane.imp likes this.
  6. ChoTimberwolf

    ChoTimberwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    117
    ijw you mean you have to be IMM 1, IMM 2, Isolated or Targeted to be able to cancel the symbiont armor? For me it sounds like you cajn cancel it anytime but if you cancel it these states are cancelled too
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    Grammatically, the 'to also cancel' wording instead of 'and also cancel' makes the thing you're cancelling a requirement.
     
    chromedog and ChoTimberwolf like this.
  8. spears

    spears Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    126
    The also doesn't make that especially clear imo.
     
    ChoTimberwolf and Hecaton like this.
  9. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,979
    Likes Received:
    2,065
    Yup. Also saw a Gorgos shed armor on turn 3 when controlled by its owner to get the Specialist Operative out to complete an objective. I guess that wouldn't be allowed?

    Honestly they should just make the Gorgos non-hackable. Would give it a neat niche.
     
    ChoTimberwolf likes this.
  10. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    1,850
    So. For the record:

    I co-ord hack a Gorgos with an Interventor and Zoe.

    I successfully Possess and IMM the Gorgos.

    Next order I activate the Gorgos, shoot someone and then shuck the Symbio Armour.

    This is legal?

    What happens to my second Short Skill if I shuck the Symbio Armour as the first short skill?
     
  11. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    3,353
    As toadchild says, it's a Short Skill to remove the Symbiont Armor, so that would be two Short Skills and an Order that can't be declared.
     
    chromedog and inane.imp like this.
  12. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    1,390


    You can't shoot if you're immobilized
     
    inane.imp and chromedog like this.
  13. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    1,850
    Yeah, I realised that after the event. Assume I said Discover or something like that. :)
     
  14. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    197
    that change the whole situation, if you were declaring Discover (a short movement skill) rather than Shoot (a short skill), then in that case you could declare a short skill as second.
     
  15. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    1,850
    Not really, @IJWs answer applies in both cases.

    2 short skills, the second shucking the Armour

    Order that doesn't work.
     
  16. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    197
    Are you really saying that Discover is a short skill ? that "Next order I activate the Gorgos, Discover someone and then shuck the Symbio Armour." is 2 short skill and it fails because you cannot declare more than one ? I hyperlinked Discover so you can see for yourself that when I say it is a movement skill i'm not bluffing.
     
    ChoTimberwolf likes this.