1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Frostbyte: Base to Base with Beacons

Discussion in 'Rules' started by gnyf, Oct 2, 2018.

  1. gnyf

    gnyf Professionel Carouser & Malingerer
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    62
    THIS IS ABOUT CAPTURE AND PROTECT, NOT FROSTBYTE. Sorry for the misunderstanding

    Need an official statement on this one, since it isn't specified in the rules for the mission.

    Example:
    1. Player A picks up the beacon and moves towards his deployment zone.
    2. Player B rushes towards Player A's unit, and places himself in BtB with the beacon.

    Argument:
    Player B argues that he is now in BtB contact with the beacon, preventing Player A from scoring points.
    Player A argues that since he picked up the beacon, Player B cannot go into BtB with it

    Question:
    Who is correct? This has been discussed to death, and everyone has an opinion. An official ruling would be great, and maybe add it to the PDF.
     
    #1 gnyf, Oct 2, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2018
  2. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,315
    Likes Received:
    10,750
    Player A is going to need to point out where Capture and Protect says that the Beacon is removed from the table.
     
    inane.imp and chromedog like this.
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,651
    Likes Received:
    8,225
    To be fair, the scenario doesn't say you're allowed to move the Beacon, either, nor for that matter, that a beacon must remain in base contact with the trooper carrying it.
     
    inane.imp and Hecaton like this.
  4. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,315
    Likes Received:
    10,750
    I 100% agree that Capture and Protect could do with a similar line to Supplies, saying that the supply box marker never leaves the table, but that's not needed to make player A's argument meaningless - any argument that stops B's trooper from being in base contact (i.e. by removing the Beacon from the table) would also stop A's trooper from being in base contact.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  5. gnyf

    gnyf Professionel Carouser & Malingerer
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    62
    Shit, sorry, this is for Capture and Protect.. played Frostbyte Yesterday, so mixed things up
     
  6. gnyf

    gnyf Professionel Carouser & Malingerer
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    62
    Player A can argue that he spent a short skill "picking up the beacon", where one of the requirements is that Player B isn't in BtB with it:

    PICK UP BEACON (SHORT SKILL) LABELS Attack.
    REQUIREMENTS
    • The trooper must be in one of the following situations:
    • The trooper is in base contact with a figure in a Null state that has an Enemy Beacon.
    • The trooper is in base contact with a friendly trooper in a Normal state that has an Enemy Beacon.
    • The trooper is in base contact with an Enemy Beacon with no enemy troops also in contact with it.
    • The trooper is in base contact with an Enemy Beacon alone.

    EFFECTS
    • A trooper can pick up an Enemy Beacon in any of the situations previously mentioned by spending one Short Skill, without needing to perform a Roll.
    • The troopers must satisfy the Common Rules of Beacons.
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,315
    Likes Received:
    10,750
    That's a Requirement to pick up the Beacon. It's not a Requirement for continuing to carry the Beacon and it doesn't say that the Beacon is removed from the table.

    Again, if the Beacon is removed from the table when it's picked up, how can the person carrying it be in base contact with it to count as Capturing it?
     
  8. gnyf

    gnyf Professionel Carouser & Malingerer
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    62
    Under COMMON RULES OF BEACONS:

    • If the miniature carrying a Beacon enters a Null state, then the player must leave the Beacon Marker on the table with a Disconnected Marker beside it.

    I'd just really like this one clarified by CB :(
     
  9. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,315
    Likes Received:
    10,750
    Yes. That doesn't change anything, Disconnected has no effect on Beacons in this mission.