1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Explode L1

Discussion in 'Rules' started by paraelix, Oct 15, 2019.

  1. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Does explode L1 still go off if friendlies are in the blast zone? N2 explicitly stated it did. N3 lacks this explicit wording.

    Whilst the Explode L1 skill lacks the attack label, the nested example of Explode vs Civilians describes the effect as an attack, and all attacks that would affect a friendly are considered Null. Therefore I don't believe Explode should trigger if it would affect a friendly, RAW.
     
  2. Cannon Fodder

    Cannon Fodder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    348
    Edit: comment removed, I was thinking Explode LX.
     
    #2 Cannon Fodder, Oct 15, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2019
  3. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    8,402
    It's not listed as a Weapon or an Attack so the rules for Template Weapons or attacks and friendlies don't apply.

    Regarding civvies:

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Civilian_Rules_(ITS11)
    Civilians ignore the Effects and Damage they could suffer, being from an Attack or any other source (As Falling Damage, for example).

    So they will not nullify the Explode template, only not be affected by it.
     
  4. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    ITS changes exclusive to Season 11 do not override the core "Rulebook" rules and text for Civilians. They modify how they are approached for Season 11 ITS. As such, they aren't really grounds for establishing changes to core mechanics.
     
  5. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    For example, ITS 10 and 11 removed the need for a drop zone for AD, but this did not override the requirement for a drop zone during a colrdinated order - it only changed the explicit interaction that they were modifying.

    I use the example of civvie vs template as well because it defines the explode action as an attack, something else you've said it isn't.
     
  6. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Example. Automatic Attack and a Civilian
    A Civilian is close to a Gaki, a trooper possessing the Explode Special Skill. The Gaki fails an ARMRoll, entering the Unconscious state, so its ExplodeSpecial Skill is activated. When placing the Circular Template, the player checks it affects the Civilianmodel, so the Attack with the Circular Template is considered null, enemy troopers affected by the template can declare their AROs and the Gaki enters the Dead state at the end of the Order.

    Template weapons and friendly and Neutral troopers
    It is not allowed to declare Attacks against friendly or Neutral troopers. So, if the player declares an Attackwith a Template weapon that affects a friendly or Neutral trooper, then that shot is considered null (But not any other shot of the same Burst with no Civilianor Neutral troopers affected by a Template). All those troops who were affected by the nullified shot can still declare ARO.

    In such a situation, if the Template weapon has the Expendable Trait one use is considered spent.

    Edit - my trail of thought is meandering a bit cos its 6am and I'm just waking up.
     
  7. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    8,402
    Explode is not Declared, and isn't a weapon, even if it does count as an Attack.
     
    meikyoushisui likes this.
  8. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    If you approach it in that fashion, Explode L1 can also strike models through total cover and scenery items, because it isn't governed by the "Template weapon" rules or diagrams.

    Template Weapons, Scenery Items, and Total Cover
    The presence of scenery items on the game table can change a Template's Area of Effect as shown in the graphic examples.

    Each Template has a Blast Focus to determine if nearby scenery protects a trooper from the Template's effects. If LoF can be drawn from the Blast Focus to the trooper, then that trooper is affected by the Template. However, if the LoF cannot be drawn due to the presence of a piece of scenery, then the trooper is considered to be in Total Coverand is not affected by the Template.

    The Blast Focus is at the center of the Circular Template and at the narrow end of the Teardrop Templates.

    The Blast Focus can only draw LoF inside the Area of Effect of the Template
     
  9. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    It seems the argument for hurting friendlies is an argument of omission within the rules, which is pretty poor. Any chance lf a response/faq query/clarification on the rule's entry @ijw
     
  10. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,239
    Likes Received:
    10,636
    Nothing’s changed since previous discussions, except that an HVT in the template will no longer cancel the template.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  11. paraelix

    paraelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Any chance of removing the Attack label links quoted and clarifying how the blast interacts with Total Cover/scenery, by virtue of the "not a template weapon" case?