1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Ends in Retreat and End of Turn Scoring

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Diphoration, Dec 4, 2019.

  1. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    368
    In a mission like Quandrant Control, where the scenario ends in retreat.

    One of the player gets tabled on turn 1, goes into retreat on their turn 1, game ends.

    Does the winning player get awarded the points for dominating the quadrants on turn 2 and turn 3? Or are the turns entirely skipped?
     
    Hecaton likes this.
  2. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,867
    Likes Received:
    4,695
    My understanding is that the round ends *after* a turn is entirely finished - so if the player who went second (had first Reactive turn) goes into retreat on their reactive turn 2 and the game ends at the end of the turn, round 2 never finishes, so there's only 1 round of scoring.
     
  3. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    1,301
    The game ended on turn one. You don't play or score turns after the end of the game.
     
    Teslarod and A Mão Esquerda like this.
  4. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,867
    Likes Received:
    4,695
    You actually wouldn't score *anything* in that situation, because the game ended before the end of round one.
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,328
    Likes Received:
    10,767
    As per previous discussions, you only score round one.
     
    A Mão Esquerda and Mahtamori like this.
  6. DukeofEarl

    DukeofEarl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Player 2's turn does happen though. You have to start their turn to check for retreat in the first place.
     
  7. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    1,973
    Yeah, and about that particular case, can we in the future remove Retreat! Rules for Dominate ZO types of missions? The objective is about securing areas and killing your opponents is part of achieving that objective, being punished for playing the mission or having your opponent actively sabotage your points by actively going for Retreat! Is incredibly bad design for those types of missions.
     
    Hecaton, Mahtamori and DukeofEarl like this.
  8. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,867
    Likes Received:
    4,695
    Their turn happens but the game ends at the end of the second active turn, which is just before the end of the first round.
     
  9. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,867
    Likes Received:
    4,695
    I think the counterargument to that is that it turns it into annihilation by default. Anybody who supports this position wanna chime in?
     
  10. DukeofEarl

    DukeofEarl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    There is no End of Round phase. Just a note to terminate any End of Round duration effects. When both Turns have ended so does the Round.

     
  11. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,867
    Likes Received:
    4,695
    I don't think that makes much sense. We'll see if N4 cleans it up.
     
  12. Bobman

    Bobman MERC
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    490
    You don't think it makes sense that when there are two turns in a round and both turns have ended the round ends?...
     
  13. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,867
    Likes Received:
    4,695
    I think that the round ending is another step that happens after the turn ends. Otherwise you could score with Dogged troopers that are about to die.