Dropping Tomcat without their Zondcat

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by loricus, Oct 6, 2018.

  1. loricus

    loricus Satellite Druid

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Can a Tomcat who has taken a G: Servant Zondcat drop without it, and if so can they then use Coordinated Orders?
     
  2. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,353
    Likes Received:
    14,845
    No, they can't drop without it. See the last Effect ballet of G: Servant:
    • G: Servant troopers possessing the Airborne Deployment (AD) Special Skill will be deployed with the same Order their Doctor/Engineer uses to deploy. In such situation, they must be deployed at the same time and on the same table edge segment, or the same Circular Template.
     
    xagroth, FatherKnowsBest and loricus like this.
  3. loricus

    loricus Satellite Druid

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    @ijw ah, MUST. Thanks!
     
  4. MindwormGames

    MindwormGames Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    282
    But is the G: Servant ‘attached’ to the Tomcat at list building?

    I thought G:Synch model’s we’re assigned during Deployment.
     
  5. FatherKnowsBest

    FatherKnowsBest Red Knight of Curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    635
    "The player must identify which trooper each G: Servant trooper is linked to during deployment. They cannot be used by any other trooper."

    Which is true. That's for identification purposes to your opponent so it is clear what is assigned to who.

    What @ijw posted it also correct. The Zondcats are purchased with Tomcats. No other units can take them. You want generic non-AD'ing Servants, then you need a generic zondbot.
     
    xagroth likes this.
  6. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    1,985
    Identifying the association to the other player isn’t “assigning” the two models together.
    In order to legally follow the other two bullet points in that section (and the other bullet points treating the two models as the same for combat purposes) you have to make the association during list construction.

    The ease by which you can normally fudge the matter, and the lack of decent support in Army, probably just helps mislead people on the matter.
     
  7. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    If you had an Tomcat Engineer+Zondcat and a Tomcat (or Dak) Dr (no Zondcat), can you deploy Dr+Zondcat?

    I see no reason why not. You must identify the association during Deployment, I can't see anything in the rules that says you must associate the Troopers prior to that.

    It's implied that they're associated; but it's only made explicit during deployment and I see no reason why you can't go against the implicit association.
     
    Arkhos94 likes this.
  8. FatherKnowsBest

    FatherKnowsBest Red Knight of Curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    635
    Where do you see anywhere that permits you to select a Zondcat outside of Tomcats?
     
    xagroth likes this.
  9. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,353
    Likes Received:
    14,845
    zondcats.jpg
    They belong to the Tomcat, just like a pair of CrazyKoalas belongs to a specific Moran, or Pupniks belong to a specific Chimera, or an HMG belongs to the trooper that you bought with an HMG. For the Daktari to be the one using the Zondcat you'd have to provide a rule letting one trooper use another trooper's weapons/equipment/skills.
     
    Arkhos94, xagroth, toadchild and 3 others like this.
  10. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    858
    oops i thumb up inane post too fast, i thought you were talking of zondbot (which are purchase separately and in my list printed a long time ago i forgot if i build the list with the zondbot attached to the clockmaker or to the daktari). For zondcat, if he belong to the tomcat eng or the tomcat doc is apparent in the cost and value it gives to kill them.

    Compare

    [​IMG] Jurisdictional Command of Corregidor
    ──────────────────────────────────────────────────
    [​IMG]2
    [​IMG] TOMCAT Engineer Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower, D-Charges + 1 Zondcat / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 26)
    [​IMG] [​IMG] ZONDCAT Electric Pulse. (4)
    [​IMG] TOMCAT Doctor (MediKit) Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 22)
    0 SWC | 48 Points
    Open in Infinity Army

    With

    [​IMG] Jurisdictional Command of Corregidor
    ──────────────────────────────────────────────────
    [​IMG]2
    [​IMG] TOMCAT Engineer Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 22)
    [​IMG] TOMCAT Doctor (MediKit) Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower + 1 Zondcat / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 26)
    [​IMG] [​IMG] ZONDCAT Electric Pulse. (4)
    0 SWC | 48 Points
    Open in Infinity Army
     
  11. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    Reasonable answer and makes it clear. Cheers. :)
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation