1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Drop bear question

Discussion in 'PanOceania' started by taxites, Mar 30, 2018.

1. taxites

taxites Well-Known Member

Hello folks. I play NCA, and I'm fairly new to infinity, 16 games maybe. Last night, on my opponents active turn, he shot at my Locust with a unidron. Now, his legates was a few inches from an objective console, and my thinking was chuck a drop bear up toward the console as my ARO. As far as we could tell in this situation, because I was throwing the DB, this resulted in a FtF roll against the unidron. Correct? Could I just choose to place the DB in BtB, as my ARO, and not participate in the FtF? Thanks in advance!

2. eciu

eciu Easter worshiper

It wouldn't be an FtF (if you had thrown Drop Bear).

Yes, you could also directly deploy Drop Bear in B2B without a roll (similar to a standard mine).

Btw. for the next time there's dedicated subforum for rules questions :)
    https://forum.corvusbelli.com/forums/rules.49/

3. taxites

Thanks pal. Is the reason there is no FtF due to targetless?

4. Toalpaz

Toalpaz Well-Known Member

Yeah, well not just targetless because special dodge smoke is targetless too.

It's because both rolls have no effect on each other one, dropping a mine doesn't negate getting shot at. Getting shot at only is negated by shooting and dodging or special smoke dodge.

If an assault hacker walked into 8 inches of your tag or something and you Reset while he decides to shoot you both are roll normal rolls. This is because reset only affects hacking attacks or Immo-1 and shooting is only negated by dodges or shooting. If you look at the basic skill descriptions they talk about what ARO's cause face to face roles.

5. taxites

Thanks. That sums it up for me.

6. barakiel

barakiel Echo Bravo Master Sergeant