1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Does the new FAQ ruling on not being able to Jump/Climb while prone affect Impetuous troops?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Hecaton, Jul 17, 2019.

  1. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,820
    Likes Received:
    4,667
    So first of all we have this FAQ ruling:

    So the consequence of this is that if a trooper is prone, they can't do anything if they declare a Jump, because you can't jump while prone and you can't stand up when declaring Jump.

    Then there's this bit in the rules on Impetuous troops:

    This seems to imply that it was always intended for troopers to be able to stand up at the start of a Jump or Climb, but anyway the question is if the FAQ ruling is intended as an errata of these rules for the Fury characteristic (since whether or not something is an errata or merely a clarification is often unclear). Does a prone Impetuous trooper have to take a header off a building if it gets it somewhere faster?
     
  2. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    751
    AFAIK, the FAQ doesn't change the movement rules, it was always intended to work like that. The Impetuous case is an exception to the norm.
     
    ijw, Mahtamori and toadchild like this.
  3. Bobman

    Bobman MERC
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    489
    Yeah. It seems that the Impetuous rules overrides normal movement rules.
     
    A Mão Esquerda likes this.
  4. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    751
    Exactly a technicism like that shouldn't get in the way of an impetuous model and a jump to his death.
     
  5. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,325
    Likes Received:
    1,942
    I don't wish to sound confrontational, as I respect your intention to challenge rules as an ongoing campaign to clarify the rules.
    With that being said, I've never personally come across anyone who have ever thought this wasn't explicitly the intention, to the point that it seem self-evident that the rule was design with that exact intention.
     
    Postmortem likes this.
  6. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    1,723
    Don't make a case where there isn't one...
    Normally you cannot go/cancel Prone if you are going to declare a Jump or a Climb skill. This is what the FAQ rules out.

    Impetuous movements have their own exceptions, as you already quoted from the rules. A prone Impetuous model DO stand up and Jump.
    Kip Up and Jump!
     
    A Mão Esquerda likes this.
  7. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,820
    Likes Received:
    4,667
    Wait, are you agreeing with me?
     
  8. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    I've also always read the Impetuous as an exception to the normal rule, and this FAQ has no impact on how I play the game.
     
    A Mão Esquerda likes this.
  9. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,325
    Likes Received:
    1,942
    This isn't about agreement/disagreement, what I mean is that this statement:

    Baffles me a bit, as I, and many others, have always regarded it as such and it appears that you just recently just come to the same conclussion as everyone I've ever met since I began playing the game.
     
    Postmortem and A Mão Esquerda like this.
  10. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,820
    Likes Received:
    4,667
    I didn't *just* come to this conclusion, that was how I had been playing it prior to the FAQ i.e. you can't be prone while jumping but if you declare Jump you stand up. Apparently that's not the case, but, as I mentioned in the OP, it causes weird interactions with the Fury rules, especially if it's treated as overriding them.
     
  11. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,325
    Likes Received:
    1,942
    No, you played it like that prior to this FAQ, because you used Palanka's ruling to justify canceling Prone with Jump and this was never the case for anyone I've ever met, we cancelled Prone because the rules for Fury explicitly states so at the beginning of Fury activation, so we did this, regardless of Palanka's ruling.
    With how you're phrasing your OP statement, you make it sound like prior to Palanka's ruling, a Prone trooper with Fury couldn't declare Jump and had to declare Move instead.

    So this FAQ literally doesn't change anything.
     
    Postmortem and A Mão Esquerda like this.
  12. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,820
    Likes Received:
    4,667
    @Zewrath I think you're misunderstanding me.
     
  13. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,325
    Likes Received:
    1,942
    @Hecaton

    My apologies then. Perhaps my head isn't too clear this morning.
     
  14. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,281
    Likes Received:
    10,696
    This. The FAQ simply reinforces the published text for the General Movement Rules and for Prone state. The Impetuous rules are an exception, explicitly forcing the trooper to stand up when they wouldn't normally be able to.