I was reading through the Holoecho State rules and it looks like there is no longer an option of using models instead of the tokens. If Saladin gets deployed with a Bashi Bazouks that is disguised as Saladin and in holoecho state then it seems like 2 of the 4 Saladins will be obvious markers and 2 of them will be models. Saladin is always going to be one of the 2 models. Am I missing something?
You can combine HoloMask and Holoecho if you have both: https://infinitythewiki.com/Holoecho_State - The effect of Holoecho State can be combined with the effects of HoloMask State. -This allows the bearer to replace their Model with that of another Trooper, following the restrictions listed in HoloMask State, and also to replace the Holoecho Markers with Models. However, these must represent the same type of imitated Trooper as the Model, possessing the same weapons and equipment, like the Holoecho Markers do. - If the player is using Models instead of Holoecho Markers, then the first time he activates the Trooper in his Active Turn, the player must place a Holoecho Marker next to one of the three Models, but it does not have to be the Model of the real Holoprojector bearer. In this way, the adversary can know he is facing a Holoprojector Trooper in order to be able to delay his AROs. - Troopers combining the effects of Holoecho and HoloMask States cannot replicate those Deployable weapons or pieces of Equipment represented by a Token or Model (FastPandas, CrazyKoalas, Mines deployed with the Minelayer Special Skill...) that the imitated Model has.
This is basically the same as it was in N3; you can be somewhat tricky during deployment and the opponent’s first turn if you are going second, but as soon as it is your active turn, you are required to identify which three Saladins are part of a holo-unit. If you want to maintain secrecy for more than half a turn, it has always been better to use just one model.
Do you have to identify which three are the trooper with the holoprojector and their echoes or just mark one of them to let your opponent know that there’s is a holoprojector troop in play?
You don't actually need to place a token until you Activate the trooper with an Order now, you only need to mark one but you'll still need to tell your opponent that all three are activated by the Order.
It looks like the wiki has it both ways. The rules block says you place the token when you activate the trooper, the example in the call out box places the token when it’s your active turn. I’m assuming the rules block is correct and the example needs to be updated to be consistent. I’m not able to check the rules PDF at the moment.
There are unfortunately a couple of examples that weren't updated to reflect N4 rules changes. This is probably one of them.