Had some questions about how exactly Holoecho works in ARO. The relevant parts of the rules state the following: So my question: Does a unit in Holoecho get to declare an ARO without revealing the real model? Here's a scenario to clarify: A Fusilier moves around a corner into the view of a Kanren in Holoecho (let's say all the echoes can "see" the Fusilier for simplicity) The Kanren declares he will make a BS Attack ARO against the Fusilier, cancelling his Holoecho state. The Fusilier wants to shoot back at the Kanren. However, since the holographs won't be removed until the end of the order, does that mean the Fusilier will still have to choose which of the three holographs he wants to shoot at or will he know which is the real model at this point? The former is my impression of how it works, but it is a bit of a strange interaction. I think what's maybe confusing me is that the rules state that the echoes are removed when they declare an attack, but later clarify when exactly that happens. Appreciate any help.
The wording around "at the end of the order" pertains to the "in addition" stuff. But the main part of the cancellation conditions of holoecho state does say that you remove all decoys and place the real model in position, and that happens before the end of the order. The keyboard warriors will be here in a minute to give you an overly technical breakdown of the semantics and syntax here, but just know that in your example scenario, the kanren's decision to ARO with a BS attack will immediately cause the decoys to be removed from the table, allowing the fusilier to concentrate full burst on the Kanren. It's not a very good ability when it comes to helping you win face to face rolls in reactive turn by the way. But it IS very effective in clearing mines and crazy koalas, mad traps etc since the decoys trigger those.