1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dodging

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Snare, Jul 10, 2020.

  1. Snare

    Snare Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    34
    I had my 1st code one game last night, introducing a beginner.

    My biggest struggle was accidentally teaching some n3 rules and not being confident about the rules which are the same as n3.

    I note that change facing has gone and you can dodge ARO when someone is in your zone of control. From what I have read this is a straight physical roll.

    The only phys-3 dodges I can see are against mines and template attacks with no line of sight.

    Have I been playing correctly?
     
  2. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    2,996
    upload_2020-7-10_11-52-13.png
    First point
     
    Mahtamori likes this.
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    11,378
    Likes Received:
    14,290
    You get a malus on the Dodge roll in the following circumstances (found on page 64 (of the May edition) of the PDF):

    1. If an enemy trooper acts inside your ZoC but outside LoF.
    2. If dodging a template weapon without LoF to the attacker.
    3. If dodging a template weapon from a deployable item.

    From your description you missed line number one.
     
  4. Snare

    Snare Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    34
    Ah awesome thanks, I read the main bulk of the rule and didn't read the "IMPORTANT!" section.

    ZOC Dodging was amazing for Liang Kai to get into close combat. I hope this is consistent with N4.
     
  5. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8,535
    Likes Received:
    15,508
    From what CB have said everything in C1 is in N4. The "full" game adds and expands on the C1 rules but doesn't change any of the fundamentals.

    Though we'll find out for sure in a couple of months!
     
    HellLois and Dragonstriker like this.
  6. konuhageruke

    konuhageruke Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    718
    On dodge, but separate question.
    In active turn. A moves, B aro shoot, A Dodge. In active you can move up to 2 inches in Dodge. Can I engage in this Dodge?
     
  7. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8,535
    Likes Received:
    15,508
    Yes, "Engage" is no longer a skill and there's no restriction against moving into Silhouette contact with an enemy.

    If both troopers dodge then Active moves first, which means the Reactive trooper can always escape (if they pass the roll, of course).
     
    inane.imp and Ariwch like this.
  8. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,131
    Likes Received:
    14,620
    For reference, it’s specifically called out in the last bullet point for Dodge movement:
    • Allows the user to enter Engaged State with an enemy, as long as the movement is enough to reach Silhouette contact with that enemy.
    And then there is a whole example for entering Engaged State further down the page.
     
    colbrook likes this.
  9. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    1,773
    Order of resolution came up in a question today, could you please provide a source for where it says Active moves first, I couldn’t find it anywhere.

    Thank you very much! :)
     
  10. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8,535
    Likes Received:
    15,508
    https://infinitythewiki.com/index.php?title=Dodge

    - A successful Normal or Face to Face Dodge Roll allows the user to move up to 2 inches. This movement:
    - Is measured, declared, and the Trooper moved, during the Effects step of the Order Expenditure Sequence. If both players have Troopers that successfully Dodged, the Active Player will move their Troopers first, then the Reactive Player will move theirs.
     
    Diphoration likes this.
  11. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    1,773
    That was fast, much appreciated!
     
  12. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,122
    Likes Received:
    5,569
  13. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    11,378
    Likes Received:
    14,290
    Bostria showed an example of a Morat speculating a grenade at a Gangbuster during the live stream where the Gangbuster only got -3 to their Dodge, so... it might be that the "enemy in zoc" is under-explained in CodeOne considering mechanics should carry over from CodeOne to N4.

    As for the other two, they stack. There's an example in CodeOne where a Zhanshi is hit by a Mine outside LOF during Reactive turn and getting -6 versus that mine (but not versus the Fusilier's combi shots)
     
  14. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,122
    Likes Received:
    5,569
    My god Guilangs are going to be fucking brutal next edition.
     
  15. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    11,378
    Likes Received:
    14,290
    Miniatures that are clumped up and blocking each others line of fire will hate any fast unit or skirmisher with mines, so this is a small... correction downwards... for Fireteams
     
  16. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,122
    Likes Received:
    5,569
    The fact that they can abuse this out of smoke now is going to be interesting.
     
    Mahtamori likes this.
  17. RobertShepherd

    RobertShepherd Antipodean midwit

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    Just for my clarity: if a model with a template weapon approaches an enemy from behind them and comes into their ZOC, and attacks with the template weapon, the enemy would suffer a -6 to dodge? But if the same enemy came up behind them but did not enter their ZOC, and attacked with the template weapon (e.g. a chain rifle), the enemy would only suffer a -3 to dodge?

    Edit: I'll post a separate thread about it rather than clutter up this one.
     
    #17 RobertShepherd, Aug 21, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2020
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation