Dodge, Immobilized, and D-Charges

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by JadeFalcon777, Dec 6, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JadeFalcon777

    JadeFalcon777 Senior Officer of the Corgi Commissariat

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    19
    Just making sure I understand the full breakdown of some of these interactions.

    Trooper A is in IMM-A state from a prior attack of some kind.

    Trooper B has d-charges, and wants to use them. He could either:

    1) Use them in CC mode. In this case he moves into Silhouette contact, and makes a CC roll, which the IMM-A can declare an ARO against. If Trooper A makes his dodge roll, he cancels the IMM-A state and also dodges the CC D-charges attack.

    2) Use them in deployable mode. In this case, since Trooper B is using Place Deployable, the opponent Trooper A may declare a dodge ARO since it's an Attack skill. But since Place Deployable doesn't require a roll, the D-charges go down automatically.

    If Trooper A succeeds in his Dodge ARO, does he also evade the effect of the D-charges if me moves out of silhouette contact, since Dodge ""Allows the user to make a Face to Face Roll to evade all enemy Attacks during an Order or ARO" and the Place Deployable skill is an Attack?
     
  2. Brokenwolf

    Brokenwolf Protector of the Search for Knowledge

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    2,809
    1) Would be a Face to Face Roll with Trooper B's CC versus Trooper A's Dodge-6.
    2) I believe that this would be a Normal roll for Trooper A. If Trooper A passes their Dodge-6 roll, they avoid the attack as you have stated. If they fail, they must save against the D-charge.
     
  3. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    1,985
    The Dodge declared during the same order as the Place Deployable does not trigger the D-Charge because it’s not able to react until after the end of the order.

    And in N4, the movement generated by Dodge does NOT interact with deployables at all—see the second bullet point in Dodge concerning the 2” movement.
     
  4. Iskandar

    Iskandar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    232
    You don't place a D-Charge like a mine. They detonate during the resolution of the Order you used the skill as described on the equipment.
     
  5. Methuselah

    Methuselah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    126
    Wait, you can just place Dcharges on an enemy model?
     
  6. Papa Bey

    Papa Bey Clueless Wonder. Still.

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    1,388
    Jumara likes this.
  7. Willen

    Willen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    747
    Unless you have a chance to crit the CC Roll, just place the D-Charge on an IMM enemy and watch them blow up at resolution. Yeah, they can dodge... in pieces.
     
  8. JadeFalcon777

    JadeFalcon777 Senior Officer of the Corgi Commissariat

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thanks for confirming!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation