Dodge ARO and its interactions with Climbing Plus and Super jump

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by Commoner1, Mar 3, 2018.

  1. Commoner1

    Commoner1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    373
    If a Trooper with Superjump and Climbing Plus dodges, can he make use of one or both of them when doing his 2" (+Kinematika) move? (Assuming he's not already hanging on a wall)
     
    KGG likes this.
  2. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    No you can't Superjump as part of a Dodge. Superjump modifies the Jump skill.

    Yes you can Climbing Plus as part of a Dodge. Climbing Plus modifies the Move skill.

    This is important because:
     
    Commoner1 and colbrook like this.
  3. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    You can do both, because the bit that lets you move in ARO is this:
    • In Reactive Turn only, a successful Dodge allows the user to Move—or use another Short Movement Skill that doesn't require a Roll—up to 2 inches.
    Climb when you have Climbing Plus is a Short Movement Skill so is allowed.
    Jump when you have Super Jump is a Short Movement Skill so is allowed.
     
    KGG, ChoTimberwolf, Teslarod and 9 others like this.
  4. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,241
    Likes Received:
    6,557
    To append to this, when using Climbing Plus to do this, do you get the free base length movement when you move from surface to surface?
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    What free base movement?
     
  6. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,241
    Likes Received:
    6,557
    As in, move to edge of wall, then place base sideways on wall in contact with the edge the trooper reached, then measure front of base to front of base to continue moving.
     
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    15,367
    You measure from the model's initial position, what you're referring to as "free" movement costs roughly 1" movement to perform.
     
  8. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    You get the 'free' movement for the translation back to the horizontal at the top of the Climb.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    15,367
    See, I think this graphic (and the one for jumping) is wrong, it does not conform to the rules as written.
     
  10. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    ChoTimberwolf likes this.
  11. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    630
    examples in this game are treated as rules. So why are graphs and diagrams also not aspects of the rules themselves?

    So going from horizontal near the edge to vertical standing tall is effectively "free" movement as there are graphs showing it is (as shown earlier in this thread)
     
  12. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    858
    and sometime the examples also don't conform to the written rules. Yet, the examples and graphs are just as part of the rules as the rule box itself. In this case, the rule box even ask the reader to look at the graph.

    I would be surprised the rule writer show an example of how he does not himself play the game. I'm sure if he played a game and the occasion was there he would spend 1 climb order to do exactly what he shown in his graphical example.
     
  13. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    15,367
    I know where you're coming from, but I still disagree :)
    Smells more like a deployment zone text says one thing, image says something different.
     
  14. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    858
    that is quite possible too. the 2nd graph for climbing works fine if we assume the model has MOV 4, in that he spend 3" of movement in those climbs orders in accordance with the distance & measurement rules.

    well... i was going to comment that the 1st graph want to illustrate that while you cannot move horizontally, if you do end up next to the level surface you can keep climbing back down on the same Order in which you climb up. Say, if there was a paper modeled fence...

    But then I noticed the effect say not only you cannot keep moving horizontally (i guess meaning not more than what is necessary to not have your model float), that once you reach a level surface you must immediately stop for the order (the same way movement stop when reaching base contact or difficult terrain). In that case, the mistake is not that the graph would be 100% possible if the model had a MOV 6-2 or a shorter wall (which is what i thought until today) but that the graph should always take 2 Order icon to execute (which is a minor image error - missing one icon).
     
  15. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    So what you're saying is that a model will Climb 3" to go from A to B?

    upload_2018-3-8_17-34-6.png

    I've always thought that the movement from A-B was a 2" Climb.
     
  16. Spleen

    Spleen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    414
    You appear to be saying that the image posted above by @inane.imp which is a key example provided by the rulebook is showing something illegal.

    Please confirm if what you are saying is the rulebook is wrong?
     
  17. the huanglong

    the huanglong Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    3,658
    Throw in a parapet to really mess things up

    upload_2018-3-8_17-53-21.png
     
    #17 the huanglong, Mar 8, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2018
  18. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    15,367
    I was, uh.... convinced very thoroughly on the old forums... that you can still vault when climbing or jumping, so all a parapet would add is another 2-4mm of movement due to MDF thickness. Just to troll people, make 2-storey buildings that have parapets and are exactly 4" from table to roof ;)
     
    Robock likes this.
  19. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,750
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    The way I see it you can fuck up a spanglish translation, but it's hard to fuck up the intent of that picture.
     
  20. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    CB found a way. Compare the one I posted earlier to the alternative picture:
    [​IMG]

    Which is different to the first I linked. Personally I think this is the picture that is wrong/often-interpreted-badly* because by @ijw 's argument it should be:
    Order 1: ~3"
    Order 2: ~1"
    Order 3: ~3"

    Taking 3 orders (the point the diagram is designed to illustrate). Whereas IJW (by what I understand) argues that the movement in the first diagram I posted should take 2 Orders not 1.

    The only way you can complete the movement illustrated by the first in one order is if the horizontal movement is free (ie when Climbing you only measure the distance moved on the vertical surface and you simply start and end in B2B).

    *If you interpret the measurements as dimensions rather than distances moved, then it conforms to the first diagram.
     
    #20 inane.imp, Mar 8, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2018
    Mahtamori likes this.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation