If a Trooper with Superjump and Climbing Plus dodges, can he make use of one or both of them when doing his 2" (+Kinematika) move? (Assuming he's not already hanging on a wall)
No you can't Superjump as part of a Dodge. Superjump modifies the Jump skill. Yes you can Climbing Plus as part of a Dodge. Climbing Plus modifies the Move skill. This is important because: Movement resulting from Dodging in Reactive Turn must follow the General Movement Rules as well as the Moving and measuring sidebar, both of which are explained in the Move Common Skill rules.
You can do both, because the bit that lets you move in ARO is this: In Reactive Turn only, a successful Dodge allows the user to Move—or use another Short Movement Skill that doesn't require a Roll—up to 2 inches. Climb when you have Climbing Plus is a Short Movement Skill so is allowed. Jump when you have Super Jump is a Short Movement Skill so is allowed.
To append to this, when using Climbing Plus to do this, do you get the free base length movement when you move from surface to surface?
As in, move to edge of wall, then place base sideways on wall in contact with the edge the trooper reached, then measure front of base to front of base to continue moving.
You measure from the model's initial position, what you're referring to as "free" movement costs roughly 1" movement to perform.
See, I think this graphic (and the one for jumping) is wrong, it does not conform to the rules as written.
The only 'free' movement I can think of in Infinity is getting to move up and down for free via 'vaulting'. Everything else follows http://wiki.infinitythegame.com/en/Distances_and_Measurements
examples in this game are treated as rules. So why are graphs and diagrams also not aspects of the rules themselves? So going from horizontal near the edge to vertical standing tall is effectively "free" movement as there are graphs showing it is (as shown earlier in this thread)
and sometime the examples also don't conform to the written rules. Yet, the examples and graphs are just as part of the rules as the rule box itself. In this case, the rule box even ask the reader to look at the graph. I would be surprised the rule writer show an example of how he does not himself play the game. I'm sure if he played a game and the occasion was there he would spend 1 climb order to do exactly what he shown in his graphical example.
I know where you're coming from, but I still disagree :) Smells more like a deployment zone text says one thing, image says something different.
that is quite possible too. the 2nd graph for climbing works fine if we assume the model has MOV 4, in that he spend 3" of movement in those climbs orders in accordance with the distance & measurement rules. well... i was going to comment that the 1st graph want to illustrate that while you cannot move horizontally, if you do end up next to the level surface you can keep climbing back down on the same Order in which you climb up. Say, if there was a paper modeled fence... But then I noticed the effect say not only you cannot keep moving horizontally (i guess meaning not more than what is necessary to not have your model float), that once you reach a level surface you must immediately stop for the order (the same way movement stop when reaching base contact or difficult terrain). In that case, the mistake is not that the graph would be 100% possible if the model had a MOV 6-2 or a shorter wall (which is what i thought until today) but that the graph should always take 2 Order icon to execute (which is a minor image error - missing one icon).
So what you're saying is that a model will Climb 3" to go from A to B? I've always thought that the movement from A-B was a 2" Climb.
You appear to be saying that the image posted above by @inane.imp which is a key example provided by the rulebook is showing something illegal. Please confirm if what you are saying is the rulebook is wrong?
I was, uh.... convinced very thoroughly on the old forums... that you can still vault when climbing or jumping, so all a parapet would add is another 2-4mm of movement due to MDF thickness. Just to troll people, make 2-storey buildings that have parapets and are exactly 4" from table to roof ;)
The way I see it you can fuck up a spanglish translation, but it's hard to fuck up the intent of that picture.
CB found a way. Compare the one I posted earlier to the alternative picture: Which is different to the first I linked. Personally I think this is the picture that is wrong/often-interpreted-badly* because by @ijw 's argument it should be: Order 1: ~3" Order 2: ~1" Order 3: ~3" Taking 3 orders (the point the diagram is designed to illustrate). Whereas IJW (by what I understand) argues that the movement in the first diagram I posted should take 2 Orders not 1. The only way you can complete the movement illustrated by the first in one order is if the horizontal movement is free (ie when Climbing you only measure the distance moved on the vertical surface and you simply start and end in B2B). *If you interpret the measurements as dimensions rather than distances moved, then it conforms to the first diagram.