1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Disengage - Optional for Defender?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Roadrunner7431, Mar 23, 2019.

  1. Roadrunner7431

    Roadrunner7431 Well-Known Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    354
    I quote from Reference guide 1.3
    When a Character uses a movement to leave a space Adjacent to an Enemy, both Characters make a Face to Face Disengage Roll. To Disengage, follow this sequence:
    However it is not totally clear to me whether this is mandatory on the part of the Defender. Could the Defender just choose to let the active player move without the roll? I just saw Juan Lara in his latest YouTube video use Bachmann to impose four Poison tokens on the Defender merely by moving two spaces. We have always had the Taunting Characters being able to taunt in the Disengage roll and we often see Tao Wu forcing the Defender to discard two Tactics by attempting to move twice. I have always felt that the Disengage roll was mandatory for both players until I saw what Bachmann did.
     
  2. Damiel

    Damiel Domaru sexytorizado :3
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    232
    Disengage is mandatory for both aristoi, as long as it's a FtF roll mandatory for the active character that wishes to move.

    After the roll both characters can decide whether using their symbols for disengaging/engaging or for switches (as always).

    Hope this helps!

    :3
     
    treiral and Roadrunner7431 like this.
  3. Croepoek

    Croepoek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    193
    I am sorry, but I think I do not understand the question. But I would like to, to get a better understanding of the rules :wink:

    Are you referring to the defender using his dice results just for switches? Hence with two disengages away from Bachmann and with his switch you could inflict 4 poison token to the active Aristo.

    Or is it the other way around and you would like to prevent the disengage roll completely and just let the active Aristo (Bachmann) move away to prevent any switches? E.g. Taowu making you discard tactics for a "disengage" he cannot win (-> :3::3:agility).

    Would be great to clarify as I have not seen the video you are referring to. Thanks! :slightly_smiling_face:

     
  4. Roadrunner7431

    Roadrunner7431 Well-Known Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    354
    I mean the second paragraph. May the defender choose just to let the active character leave without any face-to-face roll all together. I believe now that the answer is NO. This makes Bachmann a very powerful character that can inflict poison merely by moving adjacent and then away from an enemy. Watch the "Ecos del Hexadome" video posted March 17. Even if you don't understand the Spanish you will understand Aristeia!
     
  5. ldawg2damax

    ldawg2damax New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    This would also apply to Taowu. His whole thing with disengaging is that he automatically makes the opponent discard a card. It wouldn't make sense if the opponent could let him disengage without his "roll" activating.
     
    Roadrunner7431 likes this.
  6. Chikahiro

    Chikahiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    193
    While I can see some instances where it'd be beneficial to let someone move away, in the end I believe its beneficial to keep it a mutual requirement. The reason for that is that the disengaging player has to remind the other player to participate in order to be successful. If its optional and 1) the disengaging player forgets to ask plus 2) the player being disengaged forgets to do it, then its unopposed.

    Lets face it: lapses happen :)
     
    Roadrunner7431 likes this.