1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Discover on a non-marker target

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Arkhos94, Aug 30, 2019.

  1. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    Is it legal to declare discover on a non marker target ?

    For example :
    Caliban in camo marker form has LoF on a triad fireteam of tohaa and nothing else.

    He want to force tohaa to declare their ARO before his second short skill without delaying

    So first action, Caliban declare discover on tohaa n°1 (let's say a sukeul)

    Fearing the caliban pulzar, all tohaa FT declare dodge

    Second action, Caliban declare BS attack, spliting the burst with 1 dice per tohaa. All roll have the surprise shot modifier.

    Seems legit ?
     
  2. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    818
    Sure, as Holoprojector L1 is not a marker state, but can get revealed by a successful Discover.
     
    BLOODGOD, meikyoushisui and Mahtamori like this.
  3. LZ35SRX

    LZ35SRX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    48
    Citation needed on actual interaction between Holoprojector and Discover, since Discover is intended to cancel marker states, and Holoprojector is not a marker state.
    upload_2019-8-30_20-9-0.png
    Note the explanation before the frame with rules.

    RAW this action is possible, but extremely iffy, relying on a strictly "Oh, it doesn't specifically say I can't so I can!" approach. I personally would not allow that in a tournament I run.
     
  4. Armihaul

    Armihaul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    464
    the only requirement is having LoF, nothing more. Do not mix requirements with effects or explanations. Actually, it doen't require for the objective to be an enemy (because if it was a requirement, you could not use it against impersonators).
     
    meikyoushisui and DukeofEarl like this.
  5. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    Cancellation close of holoprojector level 1 :
    Cancellation
    • The trooper in Holoprojector L1 state is successfully Discovered.

    A troop on holo 1 status can be discovered, @daszul is right
     
    #5 Arkhos94, Aug 30, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2019
    meikyoushisui, WarHound and Mahtamori like this.
  6. Gunmage

    Gunmage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    249
    You can also cancel Holoechos by discovering the Holoprojector L2 bearer.

    More interesting question is - can you Discover your own troops, since there's no requirement for the target to be an enemy? =)
     
    Willen likes this.
  7. Willen

    Willen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    70
    Perhaps I am missing something but why would they be able to delay if you declare, for example, Idle?

    I understand the question but not the example...

    And FWIW I think RAW yes, you can Discover anyone.
     
  8. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    I’m camoed at the start so if I declare something that does not break camo, they will delay (and choose to dodge or bs attack based on my second action)

    If I break camo with my first action using discover, i can force my opponent to declare his aro before knowing if I will use my DTW or my smg
     
  9. Willen

    Willen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    70
    Got it, skipped the camo part :)