You are not allowed to use Marksmanship (thus ignoring the Cover of the opponent) on Discover rolls since Marksmanship only works on BS attacks. Correct? :) If so, do we think this is the way it is intended to be?
I think you're phrasing that wrong. Marksmanship says: The user may only benefit from this Special Skill when he declares a BS Attack. Discover says to use the same modifiers as for a BS Attack, but you're not declaring one. Even with the FAQ Do Skills that let you perform a 'BS Attack Roll' (for example Intuitive Attack and Speculative Attack), or have the BS Attack Label, count as a BS Attack for MODs? For example if the Trooper has 'BS Attack (+1 Damage)' or 'BS Attack (AP)'. Yes. The facts for Discover are: It's a WIP roll There's no 'BS Attack' label Nowhere in the skill description is described as making a BS Attack roll. So there's no rules mechanic allowing you to apply the effects of Marksmanship to a Discover roll, and no evidence to support a claim that you're supposed to be able to. "I wanna do it" isn't evidence. :)
Thanks for the clarification, but as you can see my post started with "You are not allowed to use Marksmanship[...]" :) But then I take it that this is correct and intended. Thank you :)