1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Designated Target missions and harming HVT

Discussion in 'ITS' started by Mahtamori, Sep 4, 2018.

  1. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,665
    Likes Received:
    8,237
    Just a sanity check; in missions like Decapitation where you score extra for killing the enemy HVT with the Datatracker, you still lose the game and award your opponent the compensatory OP if you kill the friendly HVT?

    (Or in other words; you aren't allowed to synch your friendly HVT and have it commit suicide to deny your opponent the bonus points that they could have had?)
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    8,912
    I think that would earn a shoeing
     
    inane.imp likes this.
  3. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,319
    Likes Received:
    10,753
    DESIGNATED TARGET

    In some scenarios, the enemy HVTs are considered enemy troopers instead of Neutral Civilians, so they can be targeted by Attacks. Killing the enemy HVT does not cause loss of the game nor gives compensatory Objective Points to the adversary.

    HVTs will be reactive and hostile, reacting to any Order performed by an enemy active trooper in LoF or ZC.

    In such scenarios, players will use the following Troop Profile for HVTs: (see below).


    My emphasis. I'm not seeing anything that gives you permission to kill your own HVT without repercussions.
     
  4. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    393
    Which leads to when it becomes a friendly unconscious HVT, and you want to doctor it, can you? And if you fail, you just killed a friendly hvt, do you lose?
     
    xagroth likes this.
  5. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    4,598
    RAW you can doctor it. And if you "kill" the uncosncious HVT... well, the opponent had already damaged him... but no idea.
     
  6. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    4,121
    You can only doctor friendly troopers. Your HVT is neutral to you.
     
  7. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    4,598
    Nope: http://wiki.infinitythegame.com/en/Doctor
    You can doctor anyone, but touching B2B an enemy troop will place you in the Engaged status... Which, now that I think about it, does not seem to prevent other interactions since nanospionage requires B2B and making a WIP roll???

    Mmmmmm....
     
    eciu likes this.
  8. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    4,121
    Ok my bad, seems you can doctor anyone (bar enemy, as entering B2B triggers engaged state and you cannot Doctor while engaged), but you can only "medkit" friendly guys.

    Seems Doctor skill is missing "friendly trooper" requirement.
     
    xagroth likes this.
  9. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    1,758
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hippocratic_Oath
    (PanO version is missing the "First do no harm" bit)
     
  10. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    4,121
    RogueJello and xagroth like this.
  11. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,319
    Likes Received:
    10,753
    It prevents other interaction, the Classifieds just override the limit on Skills that can be declared in Engaged state.
     
    A Mão Esquerda and xagroth like this.
  12. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    4,598
    I still have to get the cards... a shame those are intended for the end of the month, since that stops somewhat the ITS to go forth this month :/
     
  13. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,864
    Likes Received:
    4,693
    How does having an HVT fall to their death count as you killing it? It's not from an attack coming from your trooper/army.
     
  14. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,319
    Likes Received:
    10,753
    'However, if any player causes harm to a Civilian (meaning the Civilian enters a Null state), then that player automatically loses the game and any Objective Points he would have gotten.'

    Attacks are not a requirement.
     
  15. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,864
    Likes Received:
    4,693
    Did the player cause the harm? It's rules for the terrain of the board.
     
  16. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,319
    Likes Received:
    10,753
    Really? That's your response to being given a rules quote that contradicts what you said?
     
    Zewrath and A Mão Esquerda like this.
  17. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    4,555
    The player made a decision that caused those rules to affect the HVT. Just stop.
     
    Zewrath, xagroth and A Mão Esquerda like this.
  18. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,864
    Likes Received:
    4,693
    Yeah I don't see that in the rules. Would be a good clarification/FAQ though.
     
  19. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,925
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    You spent an Order and it resulted in the Civilian entering a Null state.
     
  20. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,864
    Likes Received:
    4,693
    That being a qualifier for an auto-loss isn't spelled out in the rules. Moreover, "causes harm" could mean a lot of things - one would think it would mean an attack or effect coming from a trooper they controlled, not just the terrain/falling rules. If a civilian dies due to a hostile terrain zone, who's fault is that?