1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Designated Target and Spec Fire

Discussion in 'ITS' started by Gunmage, Oct 17, 2019.

  1. Gunmage

    Gunmage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    255
    Designated Target rule has this:
    Does that mean that DT cannot Dodge vs Spec Fire, if the firer is outside of ZC and LoF?
     
  2. Armihaul

    Armihaul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    493
    correct, exactly as if you shot them from behind outside ZC
     
  3. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    517
    which is very different than normal models who do get to dodge if shot from behind outside ZC by a template weapon.

    so much different perhaps we should have a FAQ to fix it. As it is, it looks like a holdover from previous edition where being shot outside of ZC and LoF meant being unable to dodge the template.
     
    #3 Robock, Oct 17, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2019
    NorthernNomad and Hecaton like this.
  4. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,863
    Likes Received:
    4,692
    Basically whoever wrote that rule didn't understand how AROs work in N3. Imagine that.
     
    NorthernNomad and Robock like this.
  5. Alphz

    Alphz Kuang Shi Vet. Retired.

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    2,168
    chromedog and A Mão Esquerda like this.
  6. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    4,597
    I think they are stuck in the ITS document lines pointing that the HVT gets an ARO when the enemy spends an order inside of the Control Zone...instead of, for example, saying anything about treating him like an enemy trooper regarding AROs
     
    Gunmage likes this.
  7. Gunmage

    Gunmage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    255
    Exactly that. The line I quoted can be read as "HVT won't react to any Order performed by an enemy active trooper outside of its LoF or ZC."

    ...and some people do argue that's exactly what it says.
     
  8. Alphz

    Alphz Kuang Shi Vet. Retired.

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    2,168
    Designated targets are considered enemy troopers.

    Impact templates give troopers AROs.

    It uses very similar wording to the base ARO ruless. Are they also saying troops can't react to spec fire because they're too lazy to read the rules in totality?