1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

D-Charges as an ARO in The Grid

Discussion in 'Rules' started by david_lee, Feb 8, 2018.

  1. david_lee

    david_lee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    46
    So let's say I'm playing The Grid, and I have planted D-Charges on an antenna with my Al Hawwa, but I have not detonated them yet. It's now my opponents turn, and they reveal a ninja hacker next to the same antenna and move into base to base with the antenna. My Al Hawwa sees this and declares detonate D-Charges as an ARO. My opponent designates the antenna with his hacker and passes the WIP roll. What happens now? Assuming the D-Charges are enough to destroy the antenna, do I get those points? Or since my opponent activated the antenna, is my attack considered null since the antenna is no longer mine. I guess what it comes down to, is what happens first: do the D-Charges go off first, or does my opponent capture the objective first?
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    8,268
    While this is very scenario specific, I'd say that the answer is common to most that have to do with Infinity timing; accommodate for both happening at the same time.

    You will destroy the Antenna, gaining points for doing so, and your opponent will capture it. Effectively, this should lock your opponent out from destroying it and it should lock you out from capturing it.
     
    david_lee likes this.
  3. david_lee

    david_lee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    46
    Thanks for the reply, at first I was thinking it wouldn't be able to work like that, since you can't damage antennas that don't belong to you, but now I realize that it would still be mine until after the resolution step. Could be an interesting way to force a tie if you're opponent has first turn and you don't have enough orders to win
     
  4. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,319
    Likes Received:
    10,754
    You can't detonate D-Charges on the Antenna in ARO, because the Antenna isn't the active trooper. The D-Charge would have to be on the Ninja... :joy:
     
  5. david_lee

    david_lee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    46
    Then why is the "detonate D-charges" skill tagged as an ARO?
     
  6. Tom McTrouble

    Tom McTrouble Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    535
    Yea, this is correct. I actually was thinking about this the exact same way when the mission first came out @david_lee
     
    david_lee likes this.
  7. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,319
    Likes Received:
    10,754
    Because the active trooper might have a D-Charge attached to them.
     
    daboarder and david_lee like this.
  8. david_lee

    david_lee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    46
    Oh, duh, I always forget that that's even an option. Thanks
     
  9. tschmitt

    tschmitt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    25
    Another question regarding D-Charges and The Grid. Are you allowed to plant D-Charges on antenna turn 1 and detonate them on turn 2? Or is planting the charge considered an attack on the antenna and not allowed until turn 2?
     
  10. BLOODGOD

    BLOODGOD Vampire Hunter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    188
    Pretty sure planting them is an attack, but I could be getting confused by ITS rulings from years past.