1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Climbing/Climbing Plus

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Zhukov2, Apr 24, 2019.

  1. Zhukov2

    Zhukov2 Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    22
    Does climbing or climbing plus allow a model to move on a horizontal surface, like the underside of a bridge?
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,076
    Likes Received:
    7,611
    Strictly speaking no.

    However, I suggest you play it that it does allow that.
     
    inane.imp, Ariwch and ChoTimberwolf like this.
  3. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,485
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    Just remember about that "fall damage" is a thing in Infinity (if they guy get unconcious while under the bridge).
     
    ChoTimberwolf likes this.
  4. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    10,472
    What's making them fall?
     
  5. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,485
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    Dont they lose "climbing+" when they get unconcious ?
     
  6. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    10,472
    Yes, but what's the relevance? Going Unconscious doesn't make you fall off surfaces any more, that was an N2 rule. Which can be a pain when you want to try and Doctor or Engineer someone not on the ground...
     
    ChoTimberwolf likes this.
  7. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,485
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    But if someone is "under the bridge" and lose climbing+ shouldn't they fall down ?
     
  8. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    10,472
    Why? As per Mahtamori's suggestion, it's being treated as a vertical surface, and you don't fall from that if you lose Climbing Plus or go Unconscious.
     
    xagroth and ChoTimberwolf like this.
  9. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,076
    Likes Received:
    7,611
    Climbing+ isn't required to Climb. The model will still Climb while on the vertical surface, a state of being (not a proper State, mind you) that isn't cancelled by going unconscious.
     
    ChoTimberwolf and eciu like this.
  10. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,485
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    Then I'm derp ;P
     
  11. ObviousGray

    ObviousGray Frenzied Mushroom
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    2,178
    Similar question; If a unit with Super-jump (i.e. Shikami or so) manages to achieve CC status on his own turn vs C/C+ing opponent, do they CC normally and jumper falls down?

    Or C/C+ing guy loses its ground, falling down with jumper?
     
  12. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    10,472
    The jumper would need to have Climbing Plus themselves, to be able to land on the wall. Otherwise the FAQ for Super-Jump and CC is going to apply:

    Q: What happens if a trooper is using Jump or Super-Jump and enters base contact with an enemy trooper while in mid-air? Will they be able to declare a CC Attack while in mid-air?
    A:
    The active trooper will automatically stop moving when they enter base contact, and will then fall vertically from that position, receiving Damage from the fall if is applicable. A CC Attack by either trooper will require base contact at the end of the fall.
     
  13. Ariwch

    Ariwch The denizen of the StateEmpire salt mine

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    270
  14. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,076
    Likes Received:
    7,611
    Sorry if this goes on a tangent, but if base to base is required after fall to declare a CC Attack (and not at any point during the order as one would expect with this rule set), does that mean you can't declare Move and then CC Attack (or Coup de Grace) if you started the order in base to base with an unconscious enemy?
    (I.e.:
    Move + CdG is wrong
    CdG + Move is right)
     
  15. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    512
    you need base contact after the fall, nothing about needing base contact after the move. so doing a Move(Away)+CdG should be fine.
    if you need base contact after movement, then they need a new faq applicable to movement, not just to jumping mid-air, or they need a faq that rewrites some rule text/bullets/paragraph.
     
  16. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    10,472
    It's specific to the situation in the FAQ entry (Jump + CC), because of the issues with movement immediately halting on base contact, which would leave a trooper suspended in mid-air without support.
     
  17. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,076
    Likes Received:
    7,611
    Okay... so if I am understanding you correctly, the logic is that when jumping you do not enter base contact until you touch ground?

    The move-away from unconscious trooper and THEN killing trooper (if I donyt get AROed) is something I'm using almost as frequently as CC attacks and it always strike people as... cheating?... the first time they experience it, so I want to know I've been doing it right.
     
  18. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    10,472
    For the purposes of CC Attack, that's pretty much the end effect.

    That's completely unchanged, and still valid. Just like Move-BS Attack and shooting from the start of the movement path.
     
    Mahtamori and Robock like this.
  19. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,219
    If I do what @Mahtamori is suggesting with all 4 troopers of an Uberfalls would the Chimera still get +3 B and +3 Phys?

    IE if all 4 troopers of an Uberfalls start in B2B with an IMM-2 enemy and I declare Move + CC (Chimera with a Viral CCW and NBW Mode A), what is the Chimera's B and Phys?*

    * The IMM-2 enemy is on a wall, because on-topic ;)
     
  20. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    10,472
    Why wouldn't they?