1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Circular Template Question

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Beetle941, Jul 17, 2018.

  1. Beetle941

    Beetle941 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    11
    What happens if I declare an attack with a circular template weapon that catches additional enemy models without LOF to my attacking model in the blast but I lose the FTF roll against the original target? Do the other models caught in the blast still suffer the effects of the blast? I cant seem to find anything in the rules/wiki that answers this.
     
  2. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    1,303
    It counts as a separate attack with each of them. If you are the Active player, the other targets caught in the blast can ARO Dodge at a PH-3 as per the Template rules. If you hit on your roll, the reacting player can only cancel it for themselves, not for others under the template.

    If you're Reactive, and the Active player is the one with multiple under the template, they get no ARO on their Active turn, and you just hit when you roll a success, no matter what happens with the main target's Face to Face.
     
    xagroth, Wolf and chromedog like this.
  3. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,129
    Likes Received:
    7,312
    Your roll is compared to each target individually

    For example, the perfidious Alguacile Ortega shoots his missile launcher at a heroic Orc Trooper with HMG, two Fusiliers are also caught in the blast with no LoF, the Orc shoots back and the Fusiliers dodge (at - 3 for no LoF).

    Ortega rolls a 9, the Orc an 11,and the Fusiliers roll 19 and 3.

    Ortega takes a hit from the Orc (11 beats 9)

    Fusilier A takes a hit (19 is a fail, Ortega's 9 is a success)

    Fusilier B takes a hit (Ortega's 9 beats his 3).
     
    Wolf likes this.
  4. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    1,108
    Small addition : if you roll a crit, It's considered as a crit for your main target only. Other targets considered it as a normal roll.

    PS : all that have been said here is also true for teardrop impact template, like boarding shotgun
     
    xagroth likes this.
  5. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,862
    Likes Received:
    7,296
    The rules text is a bit poorly phrased, but it doesn't handle the win vs loss of a critical hit, only addresses the damage aspect.

    Rolling a critical hit of 5 with a grenade would beat a normal hit of 7 from a secondary target, but allow the secondary target to make a normal ARM roll to avoid the damage.
     
  6. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    1,108
    I didn't understand it like that. To me none of the crit effect applies to secondary targets.

    Example : a crit of 12 on a boarding shotgun get beaten by a combi rifle shot of 14 of the secondary target

    I admit I may be wrong as the rulling leave some space for interpretation. Do you have some rulling to support what you say ?
     
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,862
    Likes Received:
    7,296
    No, but I'm fairly sure that if you go digging on the old forums you'll find IJW laying down the law in support of either your reading or mine.
     
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,862
    Likes Received:
    7,296
    Found it. In 2015 IJW agreed with your interpretation, but the Dude had a different take on it and argued along the lines I retold here. The Dude's answer got marked as correct by CB.

    http://infinitytheforums.com/forum/...d-the-effects-of-the-critical/#comment-680887
     
    TheDiceAbide likes this.
  9. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    1,609
    Holy f...

    It had always been there
    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Template_Weapons_and_Equipment#Types_of_Template

    Critical Hits with Templates
    Rolling a Critical in an Attack Roll with a Template Weapon causes the target of the attack (and only the target) to suffer Damage automatically and lose one point of Wounds/Structure, bypassing the ARM or BTS Roll, and applies what its Special Ammunition specifies in case of Critical.

    Other troopers affected by the Template do not suffer the effects of the Critical, but they still suffer the regular effects of the Template.


    The red part (emphasis mine)
     
    Mahtamori likes this.
  10. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,414
    Likes Received:
    4,929
    no but it is an official change, its about a year old now
     
  11. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    10,325
    chromedog likes this.
  12. gamma ray

    gamma ray Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    801
    Am I reading correctly that if I land a critical hit with a Missile Launcher, that affected troops (Other than the main target) have to roll saves whether they pass their F2F or not..?!
     
  13. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    10,325
    No, they still get their FtF, and it won't be against a critical.
     
  14. gamma ray

    gamma ray Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    801
    Thank goodness, for a moment I thought I'd been getting it wrong.
     
  15. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    1,609
    The text says that if a ML rolls a critical, the Primary Target get the "auto wound", while the other are beaten despite their rolls (a critical ARO should avoid it, as normal) but are not "auto-wounded
     
  16. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    10,325
    I still think that's a misreading, and that the auto-win is 'an effect of the Critical'.
     
    xagroth likes this.
  17. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    1,609
    But the "Confirmed answer" linked above support this reading...
     
    Robock likes this.
  18. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    10,325
    Yes. I'm not saying otherwise, it just doesn't appear to fit the rule.