1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Charge of the Valkyrie

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Roadrunner7431, Feb 18, 2018.

  1. Roadrunner7431

    Roadrunner7431 Well-Known Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    350
    A very lively discussion/debate in the Discord channel has been going on. The majority opinion is that in the instance of her attack sending the enemy character to the Infirmary she loses the option to displace herself one space adjacent to the Target since the Target no longer resides in the Hexadome. I am in the minority opinion thinking that her displacing movement represents her momentum of the Charge and that she would have the option of displacing herself adjacent to the space that had been her Target when the action was declared.
    Also if she attacks a character that can displace, the majority opinion is that this deprives her of the charge displacement. I disagree. But I would interpret the situation that if her Target (such as 8Ball or Hexxer) succeeds in displacing two squares, she would only be allowed to displace once to a space that was adjacent to the space that the target occupied when the attack action was declared.

    "Does a Mandatory double arrow Effect take precedence over the switches step ?" and Does the Target in Valkyries Charge refer to the Target space more than the actual character?"

    Hoping for a ruling by -V- rather than further complex discussion
     
  2. Plebian

    Plebian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    570
    I would say she needs her target to finish the attack within 2 spaces, or else the requirements of her displacement are not met.
     
  3. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    1,776
    Switches are activated before Effects take place. So, if target went to Infirmary or if target are 2+ Spaces away, Valkyrie can not Displace herself because she can not be Adjacent to her target.

    This rule is a tool for Valkyrie so she can perform Frostbite next Round, and I'm afraid it's not intended to represent her momentum.
     
    rag1n, volgo, Roadrunner7431 and 2 others like this.
  4. Roadrunner7431

    Roadrunner7431 Well-Known Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    350
    May a player using Charge of the Valkyrie choose to cause one less damage than would cause the Target to go into the Infirmary to keep the Target in the Hexadome for the "Displace adjacent to the Target?" This might come up say in the King of the Hill scenario if the Target with one hit point left is going to be trapped any way and sent to the Infirmary by one of Valkyrie's Allies.
     
  5. zlavin

    zlavin Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    607
    • In the Effects step of the Attack, both Characters may use their unblocked :2: to cause the other that amount of :4:Damage.
     
    Croepoek, treiral and Roadrunner7431 like this.
  6. Isidore

    Isidore New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi.
    One more precision, please. Does the "may use their unblocked" rule apply to the final amount ? Or to each success individualy ?
    For example, if I have 3 success, do-I have to choose between 0 and 3 damages ? ou 2 is also OK ?

    Thanks !
     
    #6 Isidore, Mar 10, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2019