1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Can you target your equipment with offensive actions? (repeaters)

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Shoitaan, Aug 18, 2019.

  1. Shoitaan

    Shoitaan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    539
    So hypothetically, can I pitch a repeater next to some enemy units, use spotlight on the repeater itself (equipment can't make reset rolls) then declare a spec fire or a smart missile strike against the repeater?
     
  2. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,397
    Likes Received:
    4,277
    No, you cannot target your own equipment with offensive actions. Unless by equipment you mean a Kuang Shi using Biolocator.
     
    Shoitaan and meikyoushisui like this.
  3. meikyoushisui

    meikyoushisui Competitor for Most Ignored User

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Kuang Shi explode is the other way to target your own stuff.

    ISS is very good at friendly fire apparently.
     
    Shoitaan likes this.
  4. Shoitaan

    Shoitaan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    539
    Unfortunate but fair. Thank you both.
     
  5. Papa Bey

    Papa Bey Clueless Wonder. Still.

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    343
    Er, doesn't the Targetted state only apply to troopers?
     
  6. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,397
    Likes Received:
    4,277
    Totally unclear. Seems to vary by the playgroup.
     
  7. Armihaul

    Armihaul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    329
    That is because deployabe equipment can be targeted by attacks
     
  8. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,559
    Likes Received:
    4,424
    Expanding the question, a repeater would not prevent a template to be placed, I think? in http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Templ...ate_weapons_and_friendly_and_Neutral_troopers it only mentions friendly and neutral troopers...

    And since AI Beacons are not troopers, but gear... (just covering bases here, frankly)
     
  9. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,847
    Likes Received:
    7,272
    The state will apply, but it won't do anything. But, as answered above, you can't attack friendly units.
    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Skills

    Here it claims you can't attack Allies or neutral units.
     
  10. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,559
    Likes Received:
    4,424
    The primary target wouldn't be my Netrod/Imetron, but an enemy unit, and the template would affect my pitcher or Netrod... Even a discovered mine (I assume the camo marker shouldn't be affected... but...)

    Usually, it neuters the attack (HVT, allies...), but I think there is no mention of what happens to pieces of equipment :S
     
  11. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,847
    Likes Received:
    7,272
    Well, let's go with absurdity here.

    Templates also state (bold emphasis mine) "Any trooper in base contact with a Template, or whose base or Silhouette Template is covered at least partially by a Template, is equally affected by the Template Weapon or Equipment" so if you go that deep you can't even affect equipment using template weapons.
    And according to http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Game_Elements:_Terminology_and_Alignment (specifies "Enemies" as "Troopers") and http://infinitythewiki.com/en/BS_Attack (attacks only "enemies") you can't even target equipment with BS Attacks.

    This would be absurd, so I think we must conclude that when it comes to terminology, we must be intelligent about it and ignore "trooper" when it is absurd and appropriate to ignore it.
     
    xagroth likes this.
  12. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5,530
    Likes Received:
    8,746
    And hope/pray that this is one of the things CB is addressing in N4.
     
    Mahtamori and Hecaton like this.
  13. meikyoushisui

    meikyoushisui Competitor for Most Ignored User

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    A number of missions allow scenery items to be targetted, don't they?
     
  14. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,847
    Likes Received:
    7,272
    Targeted or targeted?

    But yeah, the main rules allow Scenery with a unit profile to be targeted (terms and conditions may apply according to table, opponent agreement and scenario) as does a range of specific objectives in ITS scenarios
     
  15. meikyoushisui

    meikyoushisui Competitor for Most Ignored User

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    God fucking dammit CB language

    In either case, The Grid for example revolves completely around Forward Observing scenery.
     
    Hecaton and Mahtamori like this.
  16. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5,530
    Likes Received:
    8,746
    Should really rename the state to 'marked'.
     
  17. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,847
    Likes Received:
    7,272
    "Designated" probably :)
    Marked is a bit close to Marker
     
  18. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,559
    Likes Received:
    4,424
    Funny thing?

    Spanish for "Marker" is "Marcador".
    Spanish for "Targeted" is "Marcado".
    Spanish for the troop applying marketed states? "marcador" (thankfully no one refers to the substantive generated by the action, but the official name: "observador de artillerĂ­a" AKA "artillery observer", or Forward Observer as is named in the english rulebook) XDDDDD
     
  19. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5,530
    Likes Received:
    8,746
    I know, but then you run into issues with the phrase 'designating a target'.

    If we were talking about a laser-target designator, "illuminated" or "lit" would work, but I don't know if that would really be appropriate for someone using a hacking device. Also, that may run afoul of any scenario-specific darkness rules.
     
  20. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,847
    Likes Received:
    7,272
    I think "designating a target" is less of an issue, because people would shorten it to simply "target", plus borrowing the word from a complicated sentence that you expect people to abbreviate away from might be good - you FO a model to Designate it which makes it way easier to target. Illuminated would also work, but "lit" has a bit of a different meaning at the moment :)

    Mostly they just need to keep a specific concept be unique Markers need to be only Markers, Tokens are a good word for stuff that's not Markers but represents units or equipment, Ranged Attack is preferable over using BS Attack which is also a skill (this will also make it possible to limit specific strong skills to only work with BS Attack skill and not stack with e.g. Surprise Shot or Triangulated Fire) and so on - speaking of Surprise Attack/Shot, it'd be real nice and symmetric if CC Attack and Surprise Attack was one thing while BS Shot and Surprise Shot another, not only is it symmetrical, it also helps memorise which is used together with which!