1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Can you dismount a TAG with a dodge?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by daszul, Jun 26, 2019.

  1. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    850
    A successful dodge in ARO allows you to Move,
    and with a Move you can dismount a manned TAG:

    Dodge:
    In Reactive Turn only, a successful Dodge allows the user to Move—or use another Short Movement Skill that doesn't require a Roll—up to 2 inches.​

    Pilot:
    This Pilot Troop Profile is usable only after the trooper declares a Move Short Skill and specifies he will use it to Dismount his Manned TAG or Vehicle.​

    But the FAQ (for Pilot and Manned) state the following:
    Q: During a CC Combat, can a trooper Dismount from his TAG, Vehicle or Motorcycle?
    A: No. When a trooper is in Engaged state at the start of the Order they can only declare CC Attack, Coup de Grâce, Dodge and those Skills which specify that they can be used in CC Combat or in the Engaged state, such as Reset.​

    Isn't that a contradiction?

    Shouldn't the FAQ read like this:
    A: When a trooper is in Engaged state at the start of the Order they can only declare CC Attack, Coup de Grâce, Dodge and those Skills which specify that they can be used in CC Combat or in the Engaged state, such as Reset. So the only way to Dismount is to use the Move after a successfully Dodge in ARO to Dismount.
     
  2. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    751
    They FAQed this:
    Q: When can you Mount or Dismount a troop?
    A: When declaring Move as the first Short Skill of an Order, at the beginning of its movement, a troop can Mount or Dismount.

    Now you an only mount and dismount doing exactly that. I'd be cool to jump out the TAG after dodging but like sucks sometimes :P

    Take also in count that you have to activate the profile you are going to use during the whole order. If you dodge you are dodging using the TAG profile, so the movement must be done with that profile; you cannot switch profiles in the middle of the order because that would cause some buggy interactions.
     
    inane.imp, daszul and ijw like this.
  3. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,283
    Likes Received:
    10,702
    Please see the first FAQ entry for Mount/Dismount:

    Q: When can you Mount or Dismount a troop?
    A:
    When declaring Move as the first Short Skill of an Order, at the beginning of its movement, a troop can Mount or Dismount.

    So you can't use Dodge in ARO to get in or out, because it's an ARO not the first Short Skill of an Order.

    This avoids the problem that it's unresolvable anyway, because there's no way to determine which PH value to use for the Dodge, because of the text about applying the new profile for the whole sequence of the Order.
     
  4. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    850
    Okay,
    so while a successful Dodge in ARO allows you to declare a Move,
    you can only Dismount while in active turn.

    (The rules text does not state this, but the FAQ.)
     
  5. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,806
    Likes Received:
    8,735
    More specifically, you can only dismount with the first skill in your active turn.
     
  6. CabalTrainee

    CabalTrainee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    574

    There was alot of problems with that before the FAQ. Quite some long threads here on the forum explained how the original FAQ-less rules broke the game (or made it impossible to know what exactly to do). So the FAQ is greatly appreciated. Good change.