1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Can you AD drop into combat?

Discussion in 'Solved Rule Questions' started by Jonno, Mar 31, 2019.

  1. Jonno

    Jonno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    121
    Combat Jump does not include a note saying that you cannot jump into base to base with an enemy model that I can find.

    This would be useful in select cases, such as using a 2 wound drop troop to cause a TAG or ARO piece to become Engaged and therefore have no LoF.

    Does anyone remember any rulings about combat jumping into combat?


    COMBAT JUMP ENTIRE ORDER
    Optional.
    REQUIREMENTS
    EFFECTS

    • In your Active Turn, when you decide to deploy one of your troopers with this Special Skill, place a Circular Template anywhere on the battlefield. This Template represents the Drop Zone.
    • Any horizontal flat surface the size of a Circular Template and free of scenery elements may be chosen as the Drop Zone.
    • You cannot place the Drop Zone inside or in contact with a Low Visibility or Zero Visibility Zone.
    • Place your AD: Combat Jump trooper anywhere inside the Drop Zone, thus selecting your preferred deployment location. The entire base of the model or Marker must be inside the Circular Template of the Drop Zone.
    • Then, the trooper makes a PH Roll. If the trooper passes the Roll, he successfully deploys on his chosen location. AROs are generated taking only that location into account.
    • If the trooper fails his PH Roll, make a Dispersion Roll, placing the center of the Dispersion Circular Template on top of the center of the trooper's base. The result of the Dispersion Roll determines the troop's effective deployment location. AROs are generated taking only that location into account.
    • When you place a model - but not a Marker - on the battlefield, you are required to share all Open Information relative to that trooper.
     
  2. RobertShepherd

    RobertShepherd Brisk antipodean

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    1,715
    WarHound, Jonno, chromedog and 2 others like this.
  3. KestrelM1

    KestrelM1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    383
    The base rule "Airborne Deployment" has the following bullet point:
    • Troopers using Airborne Deployment cannot deploy Prone or in base to base contact with another model, Marker, mission objective or piece of scenery.
    Since it applies to all levels it's not repeated each time.
     
  4. Jonno

    Jonno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    121
    Thanks!
     
  5. HellLois

    HellLois What the Hell...Lois?
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    Thats right

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Airborne_Deployment_(AD)
     
    Xeurian and Jonno like this.