1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Camo with G servant : is the owner public info ?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Arkhos94, Aug 29, 2019.

  1. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    I have a caliban engineer deployed with a slave drone (G:Servant)

    I have to tell my oponent that the slave drone is owned by an engineer and that said engineer is not visible on the table => that's ok

    If my caliban declare an action, it will activate the G:servant so my opponent will know they are link together => that's ok too

    But, as long as I do not activate/reveal my caliban, do I have to tell him which camo marker is the owner of the G:Servant ?
     
  2. BLOODGOD

    BLOODGOD Vampire Hunter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    188
    Clarification to the first point - your opponent will definitely know that the controller is on the table, since the servant isn't disconnected.

    I'm not really sure about the question, though; I'd probably extemporaneously "no, you don't have to tell him," but it wouldn't take much to convince me the other was right.
     
  3. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    For what it's worth, I've always played it as not needing to tell the opponent which camo marker it belongs to. It wasn't questioned in my meta and so it just kinda stuck.
     
  4. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    8,268
    My take on it is this:

    • You need to identify which Marker is the owner.
      • Rules say you need to identify which trooper is the owner, and we know that we must assume Markers to also be troopers for several rules to work.
    • You do NOT need to do this if the Doctor or Engineer is not on the table (Hidden Deployment or Airborne Deployment)
    • You do NOT need to tell your opponent if the Marker is an Engineer in the Caliban's case
      • Even though you need to identify which trooper because this is open information yielded by the Servant, anything else about the trooper is private information
     
    Lesh', xagroth, BLOODGOD and 3 others like this.
  5. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Just writing to remind anyone playing against Shasvastii that even if this is true, you would still know it's an Engineer (as that's the only camo profile that can have a servant in faction).
     
    xagroth and WarHound like this.
  6. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    8,268
    Indeed. It's like when there's a lonesome Nasmat with owner not on table. Is it possibly a Tuareg? Could it possibly be!?
     
  7. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    So 2 answers saying no need to tell and 1 good explaination saying I have to tell

    @Mahtamori explaination seems good but I would be happy to have some official clarification along the way (good explaination regarding camo have often been beaten by CB ruling)
     
  8. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,319
    Likes Received:
    10,754
    Mahtamori was the only one to say what’s in the rules. In case it’s not enough, here’s the rules text:
    • The player must identify which trooper each G: Servant trooper is linked to during deployment. They cannot be used by any other trooper.
    A trooper in Camouflaged state is still a trooper, so you must identify which Camo Marker they are linked to.
     
  9. BLOODGOD

    BLOODGOD Vampire Hunter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    188
    Could also be a Hakim. ;)
     
  10. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    8,957
    A Servant and Controller have to deploy at the same time, so you could only connect a normal Nasmat to a Hakim if it didn't use AD, at which point it's pretty obvious that it's not attached to a Tuareg.
     
    BLOODGOD and WarHound like this.
  11. BLOODGOD

    BLOODGOD Vampire Hunter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    188
    OK, thanks. I must have either just played it wrong in N2 or not noticed the change in N3.
     
    colbrook likes this.
  12. Lazarus0909

    Lazarus0909 Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    154
    Sigh, my hopeful quest for useful G:Servants attached to airborne models continues... xD
     
  13. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    4,598
    Hakims (haqquislam) and Tomcats (Corregidor) have those... become a space-dwelling Nomad or a desert-running Haqquislamist XD
     
    WarHound likes this.
  14. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    8,268
    And Delta from O-12. Join the Force.
     
    WarHound, Arkhos94 and xagroth like this.
  15. Lazarus0909

    Lazarus0909 Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    154
    Oh no I know they do (I play Ramah actually as well haha) it's just that sadly I don't find them very useful as they have to enter from the same section as the AD model dropping in :(

    If you could either deploy the servant in a different section (say, further in your backfield) or indeed be connected to a servant already on the table upon arrival, that would be much more useful. Ah well.
     
  16. Brother Smoke

    Brother Smoke Bureau Trimurti Representative

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    1,399
    You could always just send the little guy into CC with something that doesn't want to be in CC, and then watch them either do nothing or risk getting EP'd
     
    Section9 and oldGregg like this.