1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burst modifiers

Discussion in 'Rules' started by pikemonster, Oct 28, 2020.

  1. pikemonster

    pikemonster Usuario

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have questions about modifiers in general and some particular examples:

    1) Does "B=2" considered to be a modifier to burst?

    2) Does neurocinetics / total reaction / enhanced reaction considered to be a modifier? (it has similar effect as B=X)

    3) In ARO: can burst modifier from 3-man fireteam be combined with enhanced reaction / total reaction / neurocinetics ?

    4) In ARO: what burst can use a total reaction bot under enhanced reaction buff?

    Reference rules I have not found my answer in:
    - p81 (general description on modifiers)
    - p64 (enhanced reaction)
    - p115 (total reaction)
    - p106 (neurocinetics)
    - annex v1.1 p7 (fireteam)

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8,109
    Likes Received:
    14,696
    1) I would say so, as the burst of the trooper had been modified, but to a fixed number rather than bonus.

    2) No, No, Yes, TR and Neurokinetics don't change burst in ARO, just allow you to use the full amount. ER actually modifies the burst of the trooper.

    3) Burst Modifiers don't stack, the Fireteam exception only applies to Active Turn.

    4) Burst 2, due to the effects of Enhanced Reaction, I recommend Assisted Fire instead.
     
  3. Tongfa

    Tongfa ULTRA INSTINCT UKR

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    324
    so just to clarify, if a maruader sniper (+1B native) was in a Haris, in the active turn, he gets to fire 4 times, but in the reactive turn, he is only a Burst 2 reaction?
     
  4. Stampysaur

    Stampysaur Wallace is my LT

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    115
    Correct
     
    colbrook likes this.
  5. Lawson

    Lawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2020
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    701
    To be clear, we're saying that being part of the fireteam gives the +1 bonus, right, not the +1B on the sniper rifle, which only applies to the active turn?
     
    #5 Lawson, Nov 4, 2020
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2020
    Dragonstriker likes this.
  6. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    10,953
    Likes Received:
    13,663
    The Marauder sniper in the example is in a Haris and still get the burst bonus from the Haris in reactive.

    As far as I understand the red box rule for Modifiers, any Burst modifier inside a () bracket will not apply during reactive turn. Burst modifiers in square brackets [] will apply during reactive turn (e.g. Yan Huo Neurocinetics[+1B] profile) while burst modifiers from abilities should also apply during reactive turn (e.g. Double Shot trait on Mine Dispensers)
     
  7. Lawson

    Lawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2020
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    701
    You just responded after I realized they were talking about the fireteam bonus and not the +1B and edited my initial question, but its good to know that there's a difference mechanically between square and round brackets.
     
    Mahtamori likes this.
  8. Ashtroboy

    Ashtroboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    44
    so double shot works in ARO ? That’s good to know for little Maggie
     
  9. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    10,953
    Likes Received:
    13,663
    I *think* so. The text in Skills and Equipment regarding Modifiers that tells us that MODs to Burst do not apply in Reactive turn seem to be referring to the previous "Remember" box which is all about MODs on skills and equipment inside rounded brackets. I don't think I've seen elsewhere where burst is not applied in reactive turn, so it's a bit weird given that it seemingly is a reminder of a rule but in actuality is a rule in and of itself.

    https://infinitythewiki.com/index.php?title=Skills_and_Equipment_in_Infinity

    Just... remember that Maggy would have to target the same spot in reactive, meaning you can't stick down two mines, you only get one mine with a "re-roll" so to speak. Or "Twin-linked" on the mine dispenser in ARO if putting it in Warhammer-speak (7th ed.).
     
    Ashtroboy likes this.
  10. Stampysaur

    Stampysaur Wallace is my LT

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    115
    I think it is something that requires clarification. I thought so too until I read thw double shot rules that says it applies a mod to the shot.
     
  11. Icchan

    Icchan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    964
    As written, Double Shot only increases active turn Burst.
    But... as written, Yan Huo missile launcher with Neurocinetics either has 1B on active and reactive or 2B on active and 1B on reactive.
    Not 1B active and 2B reactive which was probably the intended result (based on N3 FAQ and common sense).
     
  12. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,952
    Likes Received:
    7,510
    I don't think the brackets are actually significant. This came up with the N3 Yan Huo Neurocinetics as well, and they issued a FAQ of "Q: Does dual weapons + Neurocinetics work the way you'd naively assume it to? A: Yes, of course." I expect something similar to gloss over any wording inconsistencies here as well.
     
    wes-o-matic, Lawson and inane.imp like this.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation