1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Bikes, Booty, and Deployment

Discussion in 'ITS' started by Hecaton, Mar 5, 2019.

  1. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,822
    Likes Received:
    4,672
    If a Bounty Hunter rolls a motorcycle on Booty, and they are deployed in a small area where there is not room for a S4 base to fit, what happens?
     
    Ben Kenobi likes this.
  2. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    1,728
    It's IMM-2 as per rules.
    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Models_and_Markers_Replacement

    Where the replacement is mandatory and inevitable, because of a rule, Special Skill, or piece of Equipment that has the Obligatory Label, the following must be taken into account:
    • If the diameter of the new base is wider than the surface, so the surface cannot support it, the trooper or piece of Equipment will fall.
    • If the space available is less than the volume determined by the silhouette template, then this trooper or piece of Equipment will enter the Immobilized-2 state.
     
    b1ackheart and chromedog like this.
  3. b1ackheart

    b1ackheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    71
    yeah you'd have to leave your bike wedged in that alleyway. but as you can't take any short movement skills except discover while being immobilized you can't even dismount. could an engineer fix your bike so that you can at least dismount?
     
    RogueJello and xagroth like this.
  4. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,760
    Likes Received:
    4,246
    The Engineer would remove the IMM-2 state during Resolution. The IMM-2 will re-proc at the conclusion of the order. So no effect overall.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  5. Savnock

    Savnock Nerfherder

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    490
    While the rules outcome there is both funny and an interesting interaction, the actual outcome should also be pretty clear: your opponent being probably not a total jerk, they would let you move the thing out in a way that's fair.
     
  6. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    1,728
    your opponent being probably not a total jerk, they would let you dismount and move out in a way that's fair.
     
  7. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Where does the rules for Motorcycle equipment state that you become S4?
     
  8. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    849
  9. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    @daszul

    No, that's the profile for the marker you leave behind when you dismount. Read the following:


    • When a trooper on a Motorcycle declares the Short Skill Move and announces he will Dismount, replace the mounted figure by a Motorcycle Marker (MOTORCYCLE) or a piece of scenery of similar diameter. Place the trooper's model in base to base contact with the Motorcycle Marker, or measure his movement from the edge of the Marker's base, as you prefer.
    My emphasis
     
    daszul likes this.
  10. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,283
    Likes Received:
    10,700
    See the note in the ITS document for Panoplies.
     
  11. b1ackheart

    b1ackheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    71
    ah yes it only fixes the bike when you resolve the order so you couldn't even use a coordinated order with the engineer and rider to do it as the rider can't declare the move during the process of the order. just have to hope your opponent isn't going to play it that way and lets you dismount.
    .
     
  12. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Thank you
     
  13. SoMann

    SoMann Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    13
    Is it any model that can't choose to gamble? Is it possible to roll on booty without having the possibility to roll on lvl1?
    Because the bike is only on lvl2, right?
    If that's the case then the player just made a strange call to roll on lvl2 instead of lvl1, or a gamble!
     
    A Mão Esquerda likes this.
  14. jimbo slice

    jimbo slice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    228
    I had this whole long thing about deploying dismounted, then realized that apparently the Zondnautica are the only bikers in the Infinity universe with enough common sense to deploy dismounted when it suits them.
     
    theradrussian likes this.
  15. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,822
    Likes Received:
    4,672
    Yup. Being able to deploy dismounted would solve the problem I think.
     
  16. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,760
    Likes Received:
    4,246
    Yeah... I've never really understood why you can't either. To my mind it's no real difference to deploying Prone. But cest le vie
     
    theradrussian, Robock and Hecaton like this.
  17. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    513
    should you be stuck in an alleyway, the only way out is not by engineer but by any trooper strong enough to casevac you out of your unfortunate position.
    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Casevac

    • If the diameter of the new base is wider than the surface, so the surface cannot support it, the trooper or piece of Equipment will fall.
    Never heard of that. How does it work for an alley where the surface cannot support you ? You fall down from the table like a glitched video game ? Or I guess as such an alleyway would be for example a 2"x2"x4" crate surrounded by buildings, you can fall down by skidding off the crate. If you deployed on a wall, do you fall forward or backward ? Can the fall put you outside your DZ ?
     
    theradrussian likes this.
  18. b1ackheart

    b1ackheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    71
    Yeah it's most definitely going to be a very rare occurrence but it's nice to know how it would be handled if it did happen... or at very least how screwed you would be if you did choose to make that gamble and lost
     
  19. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Given the way the TAG Pilot, Remote Pilot, Motorcycle and AI Motorcycle rules have basically been getting written incrementally during this edition, it would certainly make a lot more sense if the rules for Motorcycle (and probably Manned TAGs) were revised to allow them to start the game dismounted.

    At the moment, Motorcycle does not specify which profile a trooper possessing Motorcycle starts with. AI Motorcycle explicitly states that there's a choice. For Motorcycle, we're left to guess or assume whether you have to start with the mounted profile.
     
    Hecaton and theradrussian like this.
  20. daszul

    daszul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    849
    Bounty Hunters are only PH 10, so your engi can Casevac the mounted hunter before he fixes his state.
    Yeah, lots of orders,
    and don't think too much about that engi running around with a motorcycle with mounted Bountyhunter on his back...