1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Berserk vs Martial Arts 3

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by Achelon, Jan 22, 2019.

  1. Achelon

    Achelon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    44
    I have a question regarding a CC duel between someone with Berserk agaisnt someone with Martial Arts 3.

    If both of them use their skills, given that is no longer a f2f roll but two normal rolls, would the -3 MOD from MA3 apply to the berserk guy?

    CASE 1)
    Berserk guy gets +6
    MA3 guy gets +3 but does not apply -3

    CASE 2)
    Berserk guy gets +6
    MA3 guy gets +3 and applies -3
     
  2. fari

    fari CRISTASOL, EL LIQUIDO DE LOS DIOSES

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,449
    Likes Received:
    3,406
    Case 2. Martial arts only requisite is to be in base to base contact. Says nothing about normal or ftf rolls
     
    meikyoushisui and Achelon like this.
  3. Achelon

    Achelon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    44
    Had the doubt because it says it applies to the opponent, but was wondering if it was an opponent if they were normal rolls and not f2f
     
  4. dakara

    dakara Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    175
    That's one of the reason why JSA for example has Domarus with Berserk and MA 3, you're just boosting yourself a lot
     
    Achelon likes this.
  5. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,058
    Likes Received:
    14,411
    Unfortunately this is wrong.

    From http://infinitythewiki.com/en/CC_Special_Skills
    • Opponent MOD: A MOD applied to the Attribute of an enemy when making a Face to Face Roll.
    See the bit I've marked in red. As there is no FtF Roll, the Opponent's MOD for MA3 will not apply, so it's case 1.
     
    BLOODGOD, Hecaton, daboarder and 7 others like this.
  6. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2,700
    Likes Received:
    2,759
    The good part of it is that you can impose a -3 to BS attack in the order you enter in base contact.
     
  7. Abydog

    Abydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    197
    interesting, so I have been doing that wrong for years and my ten or so domarus never lived up to their full potential ; )
     
    paraelix and oldGregg like this.
  8. paraelix

    paraelix Seed Embryo Scholar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    1,163
    Berserk also allows you to deny Surprise Attack mods, as these are also applied to FtF rolls.

    Just need to be wary of Natural Born Warrior - because the mode that turns off CC skills removes a Domaru's Martial Arts, Berserk, and Dual Wield.
     
    BLOODGOD, ijw, Abydog and 1 other person like this.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation