1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bakunin or Vanilla for an upcoming tournament

Discussion in 'Nomads' started by ndeguise, Aug 3, 2018.

1. ndeguise

ndeguise Well-Known Member
    Warcor

Hey guys,

I'm still relatively new to Infinity and am planning for an upcoming local event. We're going to be playing 3 rounds, and the missions are as follows:

Capture & Protect
    Looting & Sabotage
    Quadrant Control

I'm having a really hard time deciding between Bakunin and Vanilla for the event. I know I want Bran Do Castro in my Looting/Sabotage and Capture/Protect lists, but I'm not sure if there's enough value in the Bakunin link teams to overcome the lose of Intruders, Bandits, Hecklers and Morans that Vanilla would allow me to use.

So, I'm reaching out to the community here. Why would you take Bakunin over Vanilla for these lists? Is there any reason that a Riot Grrl link would be worth using over the Vanilla choices?

What do you guys think?

2. Click2kill

Click2kill Well-Known Member

First, I think Zeroes have better utility than Bandits. Even in Vanilla, I typically choose Zeroes over Bandits,

I think the link teams Bakunin offers are really strong. Specifically the Riot Grrls you mention, just taking even a Haris with a Spitfire and a Tinbot option is aggressive firepower for only 94 pts 2.5 SWC. Moderators are cheap Core teams as well and offer cheap SWC on spitfires. And Kusanagi is back, and that Haris with Custodier Healer can be a problem for your opponent with all the Mimetism/ODD. So Bakunin has great link options.

Of course, you would lose your MSV 2, which means no smoke tricks, or ability to laugh at visibility mods. That is the only unit that can't be replaced. Morans you could take Lunokhods or a Taskmaster and use Zeroes to Forward Observe, and use a Transductor as a movable repeater. Its not pretty, but doable.