1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ARO outside of ZoC

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by OCEE78, Nov 16, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OCEE78

OCEE78 Well-Known Member

Hey guys, If I shoot somebody in the back with a non-template weapon outside of their ZOC can they declare dodge or change facing? Likewise with a template weapon, if they are not facing can they still declare dodge etc? Also with alert, do the other allied units need to roll to change face after a successful Alert?

2. DeltaDrop

DeltaDrop Member

They can turn around if they survive the attack.
    They can turn around if they are attack or in the ZOC of an ally which is attacked.

I don't think they can do anything preemptively, but I'm not an expert.

3. toadchild

toadchild Premeasure

1. If you shoot someone in the back from outside ZoC and with a non-template weapon they do not get any ARO at all.
    2. If you shoot someone from outside LoF with a template weapon, they can dodge at -3 if they did not already have an ARO.
    3a. If a model that has LoF to the active model declares Alert as its ARO, other allied models are allowed to declare Change Facing. They follow all the normal rules for this (roll PH-3, turn to put the active model in their front arc if they pass / win FtF).
    3b. There's also Warning, which is a rule that is applied after all rolls are resolved. This allows either the target (if it's alive) or any models within 8" turn to face for free, with no roll required. There are times it is advantageous to choose not to ARO at all so that you can subsequently turn to face using Warning.

Xeurian and OCEE78 like this.
  4. OCEE78

OCEE78 Well-Known Member

Thank you very much! That is a great summary.