1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Adding dice & Maximus' Implacable timing

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Tipzntrix, Mar 19, 2018.

  1. Tipzntrix

    Tipzntrix Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    26
    Maximus is standing next to Valkyrie, Immobilized. Valkyrie uses Charge against Maximus' ally. Maximus uses Implacable to displace away from Valkyrie.

    If the extra black die from cover is calculated before Maximus can use Implacable, does Valkyrie also get her extra blue die here or is it a different timing?

    P.S. I assume Hannibal's Pointman automatic skill is using the same timing as Valkyrie, but if it's not let me know.
     
  2. eronth

    eronth Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    41
    The reason that cover doesn't change is because evaluating line of sight happens before the attack is declared.

    My bet is Valkyrie's ability would still change as long as the displacement takes place before the roll occurs, since the passive is just always running.

    I think Hannibal's would also be affected, since you're checking his line of sight for a constant passive and not as the first part of an attack.
     
  3. precinctomega

    precinctomega Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    21
    Pending an answer from V, I would say that she still gets the blue dice, because the dice are calculated at the point that the action is declared, when Maximus was still adjacent.

    This is the same reason for the black cover dice. It's to do with the state of the board at the point of action declaration, not when LOS is calculated (although that happens at the same time).

    Sent from my CUBOT CHEETAH 2 using Tapatalk
     
  4. eronth

    eronth Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    41
    The reason black dice are determined before declaration is because line of sight is checked at the start during the requirements portion of the action. It has nothing to do with checking/calculating the state of the board. You should check the state of the board as needed excluding requirements.
     
  5. Tipzntrix

    Tipzntrix Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    26
    Looks like there is some disagreement. Hopefully CB can clear it up
     
  6. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    This is right. 'Passive skills' are always running. Valkyrie gets the :-:. You could consider Benediction of Freyja as a 'Block' Tactic: Just before Roll lets you add a :-:. Same to Pointman: just when you are going to Roll it lets you add a:,: (or not).

    We're adding this question to FAQs which we're editing right now to be published ASAP.

    :wink:
     
    volgo and precinctomega like this.
  7. Tipzntrix

    Tipzntrix Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    26
    Eronth said that Valkyrie doesn't get the :-: in the post you quoted, but you said Valkyrie gets the :-:. I'm not sure which one is right!
     
  8. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    I'm sorry. I misunderstood the example because I had in mind the example we've added to FAQs in which Maximus is away and he displaces to be adjacent to Valkyrie when she's just charged to a Maximus' ally.

    Enroth's still right. If there is no adjacent inmobilized enemy to Valkyrie when she's just Rolling, she gets no :-:.
     
    precinctomega likes this.
  9. precinctomega

    precinctomega Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well, I stand corrected.

    Sent from my CUBOT CHEETAH 2 using Tapatalk
     
  10. apokalypsetest

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    So, same if Maximus Blocks los for Hannibal? No Orange then?
     
  11. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    We'll explain it via FAQs. The timing is:

    - Attack declaration.
    - Maximus displaces himself.
    - Other effects, Tactics, etc.
    - Just before Rolls: Check LoS for Pointman (this is not the LoS of Attack declaration).
    · If there's LoS from Hannibal, Attacker adds :,: to their Roll. (As Maximus is blocking LoS Attacker adds no one).
    Same way for Valkyrie:

    - Attack declaration.
    - :G:Inmobilized Maximus displaces himself.
    - Other effects, Tactics, etc.
    - Just before Rolls: Check adjacency for Benediction of Freyja.
    · For every :G:Inmobilized Enemy add :-: to Valkyrie's Roll. (As Maximus is away, then she adds no one).
    Hope it helps.

    :wink:
     
    Miller66, volgo, Damiel and 2 others like this.
  12. Roadrunner7431

    Roadrunner7431 Well-Known Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    354
    -V- you English is superb but I think when you state
    It would be more clear if you stated " adds none"
    I believe that "no one" implies in English a person or a character whereas "none" is more for an inanimate object such as a die. This is a fine point but other native English speakers may agree with me that my minor edit might be helpful to their English reading brain.
     
  13. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Thanks for your comment! I see the point. My English is far for being superb, hahaha. Glad if I managed you to understand what I meant.

    :wink:
     
  14. Tipzntrix

    Tipzntrix Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    26
    Ah, OK. Thanks for clearing it up.
     
  15. inbrain

    inbrain New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    @-V- As new FAQ recently came out I'm curious why I can not find relevant updates in it according to this thread.. am I overlooking something?
     
  16. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Tell me what specific question were you waiting for resolving.

    Thx.
     
  17. inbrain

    inbrain New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    @-V- Well as it's stated in one of your posts in this thread: "We'll explain it via FAQs. The timing is:" . So I would love both topics about LOS becoming blocked for Hannibal and Maximus moving out of Valkyrie proximity be explained (maybe in some more general form) in FAQ, as at least in one other thread you have agreed to the different outcome for Hannibal once before.
     
  18. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Ok. Noted down.

    :wink: