1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

AD Jump ARO sequence

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Arkhos94, Dec 21, 2018.

  1. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    1,165
    Friday my opponent tried Yuan Yuan jumping against my nomad (including an interventor who could try to hack his transport) so we weren't sure of the ARO order. We did it that way :

    Step 1 : Yuan declare where he want to jump and place the mini
    Step 2 : Hacking ARO (hack the transport) only
    Step 3 : Roll for hacking ARO vs Jump roll, dispersion if necessary
    Step 4 : other ARO based on the Yuan final position only

    Did we do it correctly ?
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,067
    Likes Received:
    7,599
    Yes, that's consistent with the rules. First model placement is desired location only, after the PH-3 roll and potential dispersion you get the actual position of the trooper.
     
  3. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,219
    Azuset and Wolf like this.
  4. JoKeR

    JoKeR HAWZA Instructor
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    323
    Also remember - in case of Yuan owner should roll booty as soon as he place miniature on the table.
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    10,459
    After you've found out the final landing location. The initial placement of the miniature is just nominating a target landing spot, the trooper hasn't deployed yet.
     
  6. JoKeR

    JoKeR HAWZA Instructor
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    323
    i cant agreed with it, @ijw
    in some cases the booty result & loadout of the trooper could affect the ARO the opponent's hackers want declare.
    rules say just:
    • When you place a model — but not a Marker — on the battlefield, you are required to share all Open Information relative to that trooper.
    i place the miniature in a landing zone.
    & of course if i get ARM on a booty it could help me survive declared ARO's, but it works in your case too.
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    10,459
    The trooper hasn't deployed on the table until the PH Roll has been made, and Booty Rolls for AD troopers are made on deployment.

    Otherwise you'd get reactive troopers having to declare their AROs based on the nominated spot, then losing those AROs if the trooper dispersed somewhere else.
     
    Vtarin likes this.
  8. JoKeR

    JoKeR HAWZA Instructor
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    323
    i say again - you NOT right i think.
    • Immediately after placing each of your troopers with Booty Level 1 on the table for deployment, you may roll on the Booty L1 Chart once to determine that trooper's extra loot.
    it not say "deployed". it say - place for deployment.
    & you last comment have NO effect with that I say. ARO declaration secuence not changed. but booty rolled when you place miniature.
    TY, happy New Year.
     
  9. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    10,459
    I think we're talking at cross-purposes. Until the PH Roll is resolved, the trooper hasn't been placed on the table for deployment - all you've done is nominate the point where you want to deploy.

    Also,
    No, it can't. Any Hacker that has Hack Transport Aircraft has a choice of that ARO or no ARO at all. Which means that it's irrelevant when you roll for Booty anyway...
     
  10. JoKeR

    JoKeR HAWZA Instructor
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    323
    okay. lets just suppose:
    i have a hacker in a marker state (spec-ops hacker in camo or holoechoed)
    the Yuan nominate landing near my lieutenant Hi.
    i not want reveal hacker. but if Yuan get E/M CCW or E/M grenades - it is a different case for sure...
    also i give a rules wordings to you, it clearly state - "place a model for deployment", not the "deploy"
    i not understand why you still not see the difference.
     
  11. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    10,459
    For what it's worth, it doesn't say "place a model for deployment". :(
     
  12. zlavin

    zlavin Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    647
    When are Booty and MetaChemistry rolled for?

    After the player’s Deployment Phase.
    For AD troops and similar skills, the roll will take place after landing, as specified in the rules of these skills: After their Deployment.
     
  13. JoKeR

    JoKeR HAWZA Instructor
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    323
    so FAQ in a WiKi not updated.
    thanks @zlavin
    @ijw - please update the wiki if you can.
    also i must say it is another unnesecery advantage to a Yuan side. think about it.
    whats why i play QK.
     
  14. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    10,459
    Thanks for spotting that, the FAQ entry on both wikis has now been updated.