I activate and Move my fireteam of Asawiras. A dastardly Noctifer appears and AROs Anne the Asawira with its Missile Launcher. The template also catches Betty and Carla the Asawiras, but they are behind a building and don't have LoF to the Noctifer. The fireteam declares Dodge as its second skill. Do Betty and Carla suffer a -3 penalty to their Dodge rolls? A) Yes, per the Dodge rule they are "Dodging a Template Weapon without LoF to the attacker." B) No, this is their active turn so they're just Dodging as a short skill, not in response to being hit with a template. They could have Dodged even if the Noctifer hadn't shot at them. The wording of the rule suggests (A) to me, but I'm not sure.
A) as they are Dodging a template without LoF If a Second Noctifer they do have LoF to had revealed and also attacked they would have been at -3 vs the first Noctifer, and no penalty against the second. Assuming no 6th Sense from Fireteam bonuses of course.
That makes sense - it's a penalty imposed specifically to the F2F roll against the unseen template weapon, not a general penalty to their Dodge roll itself. But they have to pass all F2F rolls in order to get their Dodge movement. Cheers!