1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Acrylic Lasercut Hacker Holos

Discussion in 'FanArt' started by unclesrouce, Apr 16, 2018.

1. unclesrouce

unclesrouce Well-Known Member

Acrylic Lasercut Hacker Holos

I really like hackers and hacking in Infinity - so it is time to add the hacker holos to them.
    The solutions for holos out there are great but were not that what i expected for my minis.

I have been asked if I can share some information about making them.

The basic idea was to have some very thin acrylic or plastic transparent holos that are cut out.

I haven't seen some hacker holos in acrylic to buy. Tips and hints are welcome.

I started drawing a holo that is cutable by a lasercutter.

You can find attached - my first and up today unique experiment - the .svg file.
    Using this .svg file you can order some lasercuts or use it if you have some lasercutter available.

Download the .svg file for usage with a lasercutter:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ugt_ZlnQcyi0nGobFCfiuoQV8Djx8dwt/view?usp=sharing

The sheet is drawn with the vector programm "Inkscape". You can download the programm Inkscape it for free and edit the .svg file above.

In the sheet there is also one vector graved version.
    I have ordered it on a 1mm acrylic in (dark transparent) red.
    I have just found transparent or red color available for this thikness.

29ade38b50360a859b62ed2c3dae9e30.jpg abfa5b51b4a531d07c803a08650514ed.jpg

So far i'm really happy with the result.

BUT: There is room for improvement.
    - dark transparent red isn't the best color for the hacker holos - maybe someone will try with others
    - There is also a 0,5 mm white acrylic - maybe someone will try
    - Different layouts will be cool - maybe someone will try
    - Try transparent acrylilc and airbrush with fluoresenct transparent color - maybe someone will try