1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

A question on the Engaged state FAQ

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Gunmage, Oct 23, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Gunmage

    Gunmage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    153
    The FAQ says this:
    "At the Conclusion of an Order, the Engaged state can be cancelled when all of a trooper’s adversaries are in Null or Immobilized state. When this happens, the trooper’s player must decide whether to keep the Engaged state, or cancel it by separating the trooper by 1mm from the adversaries.
    If all of an active trooper’s adversaries are in Null or Immobilized state the trooper can also cancel Engaged state by declaring Move (but following the structure of the Order) to separate from the adversaries."
    Does that apply if the trooper wasn't the one activated by the order? I.e. these two cases:
    1) Krakot (whose player is Active) moves in base-to-base contact with a Riot Grrl (Reactive), eats a pistol bullet, goes Unconscious. Can Grrl cancel the Engaged state with now-Null Krakot this very order to be able to shoot in AROs?
    2) Ninja (Reactive) succesfully Engaged an (Active) Hollow Man. In the next order, Ninja goes Unconscious due to some Triangulated Fire from P-Well. Can Hollow Man cancel his Engaged state this order, or does he need to wait for the next order, and declare Move?
    2a) If a trooper declares Move to cancel the Engaged state, does he just separate 1mm, as per the first paragraph of the FAQ, or is he free to move as usual?
     
    #1 Gunmage, Oct 23, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2018
  2. Cartographer

    Cartographer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    1,068
  3. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    As far as 2A is concerned, have a look at the wiki page for Engaged, because it highlights what the FAQ/errata changed. You can’t declare a Move to cancel the Engaged state any longer.

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Engaged
     
  4. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,563
    Likes Received:
    6,871
    That seems... very... weird... to be locked in combat until you execute the target...
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    9,907
    Many apologies, the second line from the errata got missed when I updated the wiki, all pages should now be corrected and include the second sentence (bolded here):

    Q: The second bullet of the Engaged state the text should be:
    A:
    At the Conclusion of an Order, the Engaged state can be cancelled when all of a trooper’s adversaries are in Null or Immobilized state. When this happens, the trooper’s player must decide whether to keep the Engaged state, or cancel it by separating the trooper by 1mm from the adversaries. If all of an active trooper’s adversaries are in Null or Immobilized state the trooper can also cancel Engaged state by declaring Move (but following the structure of the Order) to separate from the adversaries.
     
    Gunmage and Mahtamori like this.
  6. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Okay, so the answer to 2A is that you still get the normal movement distance for your Move when you cancel the Engaged state. For consistency, when you cancel Engaged you separate by a millimeter, and then measure your move from there.

    Right?