Multiple ARO Look Out.

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Quiet Professional, Jun 26, 2025.

Tags:
  1. Quiet Professional

    Quiet Professional HI enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2023
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    150
    Hello again,

    During my weekly Infinity gaming, two other members can across a situation that occurred during their game. One player moved an attack piece and three Pupniks with LoF declared Look Out! as their ARO.

    On page 81 for the Look Out common skill, states that each trooper in a player's army may make a dodge PH -3 roll to turn and change their facing.

    Because Look Out was chosen for the troopers whk could ARO, does this mean that for the remaining troopers in the army, do they each have 3 dice to roll for their PH -3 dodge to change their facing?

    The player who made the ARO said that is a bit too powerful, and being a good sportsman, elected to only roll 1 dice for his troopers to change facing. But would he be correct that because 3 Pupniks declared Look Out!, technically he would get to make 3 rolls for each trooper he wanted to change facing?

    Thanks again.
     
  2. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,693
    Likes Received:
    3,689
    Quiet Professional likes this.
  3. Quiet Professional

    Quiet Professional HI enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2023
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    150
    I agree that only one dice should be rolled for each trooper. However, there were three Look Out! ARO's in total. So, would that make it three separate rolls, one for each of the three Look Out! AROs?
     
  4. QuantronicWombat

    QuantronicWombat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2021
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    271
    I think I agree with @tox. The example states that, "Trooper A decides to declare the Look Out! ARO, and the Reactive Player indicates that Trooper B will make a Dodge (PH-3) Roll as their ARO because he is alerted." This means that troopers chosen from the Look Out! ARO get the chance to declare Dodge as an ARO when they otherwise could not. Since you can't ARO more than once, no trooper would get to make more than one Dodge roll no matter how many times they're selected from multiple Look Out! AROs.
     
    chromedog and Papa Bey like this.
  5. Quiet Professional

    Quiet Professional HI enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2023
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    150
    I think i did not explain the game situation clearly.

    Player A is in active turn and moves an attack piece forward to prepare to engage a Moran facing away.
    Player B has three troopers, each has their own LoF to player's A active trooper.
    Player B declares 3 separate AROs, one for each trooper. All 3 AROs are the same, that is Look Out!.
    Player B's intent is to change the facing of his Moran which is facing his own deployment zone.

    Does this allow the Moran to roll 3 dice, because 3 separate Look Out! were declared?

    I hope i explained the situation better. Thanks.
     
  6. Odiseo

    Odiseo ㅤㅤㅤ

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2022
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    89
    I think the situation was sufficiently well explained from the beginning.

    What does the first effect point of Look Out! say?
    «Allows all other Troopers of the same player to modify their LoF without displacing, if the player so chooses. This will be considered as if the Troopers modifying their LoF had declared an ARO

    Look Out! is a special ARO that allows other Troopers, who in principle wouldn't be entitled to do ARO, to do an ARO to change the direction of their LoF. But... how many AROs can a trooper declare when an enemy trooper spends an order?... No matter how many people are shouting loudly warning of an enemy... a trooper can only declare a single ARO; either shouting to warn or changing LoF as a result of the shout.


    In short, each Look Out! roll is considered declaring an ARO. And no, it's not a roll with three dice, they are three rolls of a single die because each Look Out! would generate its own roll, and a single troop cannot declare three AROs when an enemy troop spends an order.
     
    #6 Odiseo, Jun 28, 2025
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2025
    Quiet Professional and Sungwon like this.
  7. Law Dawg

    Law Dawg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    627
    The Moran only gets one ARO, so he can only dodge once to change facing, with one dice.
     
    Quiet Professional likes this.
  8. Quiet Professional

    Quiet Professional HI enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2023
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    150
    Great, thanks for all the replies.

    In sum, it does not matter how many Look Out! AROs are declared, each trooper only has one roll to change facing.
    I'll let the guys in my group know. Thanks again.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation