Trooper A and B are activated by a coordinated order. Trooper A is camouflaged. Enemy trooper C is in ZoC of trooper A and gets an ARO. Enemy trooper declares BS attack against trooper B (which is on the other side of the table and out of loF) and lays down a direct template that touches the trooper camouflaged trooper A. Situation1: Trooper C doesn't have LoF to camouflaged trooper A (because of smoke or other terrain). What happens? Situation2 :Trooper C has LoF to camouflaged trooper A. What happens?
If the target of the BS attack is out of range the attack fails and no attack is resolved. If you check the templates section of the book there's a picture example of what you're describing shown. Essentially to "whoopsie I splashed the camo marker" successfully you need to successfully whack another model that is actually a legal target to make the template actually resolve on the table. At that point, if the camo trooper is hit by it you resolve the template against it.
first of all, speculative attacks are long orders, so you only can use it in active turn. And now: Trooper C failed, you cant declare ARO against B,since he is not in LoF and in ZoC. You only cant react to A, but since is a camo marker, your only options are wait, discover or dodge. (I'm supposing C has LoF with A) Situation 1: If C doesnt have LoF with A, you cant declare anything, except you have skills that can bypass the situation, like the camo not having stealth or C having Sixth sense Situation 2: Is not the same situation as the opening question?
Infnity v2.0 rulebook p.49 DIRECT TEMPLATE WEAPONS The Template must be placed when declaring the Attack in order to determine if the Main Target is inside in the Area of Effect and which Troopers and Game Elements (Markers, Deployable weapons or Equipment…) will be affected by the Attack, as this may influence their possible ARO, or second Short Skill of their Order. In ARO, any Active Trooper in the Area of Effect of the Template during the Order counts as a Main Target when checking whether the Template is cancelled. @fari It's the same situation. Trooper C could choose to trooper A has his ARO target and for example declare a speculative Discover ARO against it. That ARO would get cancelled if there was no LoF at the end of 2nd part of the order. Assuming that the trooper gets an ARO, he can declare any ARO* he wants against any activated trooper. In this case the trooper C is weaponizing the activation of trooper B to "accidentally" hit the real target which is ofc trooper A. This is very important for preventing ARO baiting and ensuring that game-winning ARO forts can't be easily bypassed. * AROs against marker activations are limited to Discover, Look Out, Dodge or delays. Engaged and Immobilisation states also restrict ARO declarations. Also the trooper can't declare Look Out against a trooper that is out of LoF.
No, you cant declare aro against B, B is not in LoF or ZoC Apart from that, what Triump said, is an automatic fail since you cant affect the guy you are reacting against
Small note, but the V2.1 rulebook was released last July. I don't think there's any difference in this case but it's worth getting the new file.
From FAQ 1.3: "If several Troopers are activated at once (for example a Coordinated Order or a Fireteam) and one of them uses Stealth while outside a reactive Trooper's ZoC or Hacking Area, can the Trooper that used Stealth be chosen as the target of AROs? Yes, but the ARO will become an Idle if the Stealth user does not declare a Skill that allows AROs." So I think it's pretty clear that you can indeed declare any ARO against any activated trooper if you get an ARO from any activated trooper. Usually you are AROing against the trooper who triggered the ARO, but there are situations where you don't want to do that. Where it gets interesting is the placement of direct template AROs which allow you to effectively change the target of your ARO based on how activated trooper move using their 2nd skill because of somewhat recent rule change "In ARO, any Active Trooper in the Area of Effect of the Template during the Order counts as a Main Target when checking whether the Template is cancelled." And yes, I know that this special situation hasn't been ruled before and that's reason why I asked it. You could make an argument that the direct templates don't allow you bypass camo unless there is other non-camo trooper also moving to the direct template but the rules don't say that directly. Direct template attack AROs also probably require LoF to some activated trooper so no shenanigans with the blast focus, but not 100% sure on designer intent here.
yeah, the camo becomes the main target, but is not a valid target, so the template is cancelled. https://infinitythewiki.com/Camouflaged_State Camouflaged state: You cannot declare Attacks against Camouflaged Markers, it is necessary to Discover that Marker first (Discover + Attack maneuver), unless otherwise specified by a rule or Skill. AROs allowed: The only AROs that can be declared against a Camouflaged Marker are: Discover, Dodge, Look Out! or Reset. And: Camouflaged Markers (CAMO) may be indirectly affected by Template Weapons if another non-Camouflaged Enemy Trooper is designated as the Main Target. The main Target is not a "non-camuflaged Enemy Trooper", so the camo is not affected
There is a HUGE difference between "the model you are reacting to" and "the main target of a (multiple) attack".
This question shows so many misunderstandings of the basic rules that I think it would be worth you finding somebody in person to discuss it with so you can get a handle of the fundamentals. I'll try to explain why this doesn't work as you specify. Trooper C doesn't have a target in LoF so can not declare ARO BS attack, the only ARO they qualify for is Dodge at -3 because a enemy activated in ZoC. If Trooper A uses Stealth (its Optional) then Trooper C does not have an ARO at all. Trooper C can not Declare any ARO against Trooper B because it is not in LoF or in ZoC.
You do not need LoF to an active model to declare a BS Attack. The attack will simply fair at step 5. Resolution if the requirements are not met. You can declare an ARO against B as long as your trooper meet one of the 4 bullet points which allows you to declare an ARO. The reactive trooper doesn't have to react against the trooper that caused the ARO to be triggered, they only need to "choose one of the Troopers activated by the Order as their target." https://infinitythewiki.com/Trooper_Activation#ARO:_Automatic_Reaction_Order If however, at Resolution, the target they declared their ARO against isn't a valid target, the ARO will not be valid. - In the example here given by Tanan, the reactive player can declare a BS Attack with a template an place down the template on the camo token, however, at resolution the main target (and only target) in the template would be a camo token, which invalidates the ARO. Camo not only prevents declaration of Attacks (which is bypassed here by having another trooper active with the coordinated order), but camo also prevents the reactive trooper to perform Attacks. "The only AROs that can be performed against a Camouflage (CAMO) Marker are Discover, Dodge, Look Out! or Reset." https://infinitythewiki.com/Camouflaged_State - If somehow the trooper B walked into the template before the end of the order, it would render the template placement valid and affect both Trooper A and Trooper B. This restriction can be lifted however if the other trooper was in the template at the end of the order. (Which isn't the case in the given example) "Camouflaged Markers (CAMO) may be indirectly affected by Template Weapons if another non-Camouflaged Enemy Trooper is designated as the Main Target." https://infinitythewiki.com/Camouflaged_State - TL:DR; The reactive trooper can declare a BS Attack Template vs the non-camo as long as they have the opportunity to declare an ARO (even if the non-camo isn't the one that triggered the ARO). They can place down the template on the camo (even if the ARO isn't against the camo). However, if the camo is the only target in the template at resolution, the attack will be cancelled. If a non-camo active trooper is in the template at resolution, the attack will be valid.
Thanks @Diphoration it seems that I played it correctly last weekend: Enemy trooper is behind a corner. Antipode pack activates (3 antipodes, which one of isn't in marker state) and they stomp (move+no stealth) to provoke ARO. Enemy trooper declares an (illegal) BS attack against the non-camo antipode and lays down a direct template to block antipode advance. The camo antipodes advance into template. Template gets cancelled because only camos are in it.
as I’m still learning the game, I would benefit from more spelling out here with respect to the timing of the cancellation. I was labouring under the misunderstanding that the template would be cancelled immediately on placement, before the declaration of a 2nd short skill. I now understand that in the example above the cancellation occurred after the declaration of the 2nd short skill, during the requirements check.