The mission rules state for relocating the beacon "Each Specialist Troop can only declare this Skill once per Game Round". Is it possible to move the beacon twice in a game round using two Puppetbots (Forward Observer) or two Posthuman specialists?
yeah, they are two different specialist. And if playing a "kill specialist" objective they would both count individually if killed.
I raise the question with TAGs: we know from Corvus' specification that pilots are not their TAGs, and a separate troop, because the Szalamander would be vulnerable to Trinity otherwise (since its pilot is a Killer Hacker). So. Let's say Maximus Reinf. CoC enters the game, touches the beacon but is between the beacon and the opponent's Deployment Zone, so he adds the TAG's base to the range, moving the Beacon 15.5cm instead of 10 that would move it a S2 troop in its size of the table...
I see no issue with this, it would be a bit order intensive as Maximus needs to touch the beacon, spend an entire order, leave the TAG and touch the beacon, spend another entire order and presumably then get back into the TAG.
Wait... but doesn't the -TAG- profile have the CoC skill for Maximus, not the pilot? Never realized how unusual that is. Good point, @xagroth .
Oh, just pointing the extreme case. It may be, after all, cheaper in orders than moving two specialists, but we are talking about a unit that will have am absolute top of 5 orders or so. A simpler one would be using a specialist riding a bike (lawkeepers, Aragotos, etc...) for single movements and having more moevement radius than the opponent, thus forcing them to hunt it.
But both declared the skill. Thusly I'd say the other FO puppet can't relocate the Beacon. But I guess I'm wrong by just going by the text and not taking into account that it might've been intended differently by someone and someone else maybe was too lazy to check for the obvious fringe cases #properwordingFTW
good point. fireteam used to be worded like that before the 1.3 errata. Now support member declare and perform Idle. For peripherals I think you are right, they all declared it, so can't declare it anymore, as the text only say the other ones perform Idle. It was not changed to Declare and Perform Idle in errata 1.3. Maybe it was lazyness in not spotting how peripheral was worded, or maybe it is intended that peripheral don't get the same RAI 'fix' that the fireteams got. But RAW for now, they can't be abused.